We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very close”
Review of Hotel 340

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 340
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So very close”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Amazing building, great location but a lot of loose ends. Clean linens on the bed but overall the room wasn't real clean. Lots of little maintenance work undone. It was hot as hell when we were there and the air conditioner in the bedroom sounded like it was on its last legs.

Breakfast room was not taken care of and it was hard to find some basics like coffee. Or a table to sit down at.

Positive was the great location. Some great food nearby and a little park where you can sit by the river.

You park across the street. It was discounted but really a pain if you had to go in and out a lot. Staff there always seemed confused on what we had paid for but they aren't hotel staff. To bad they don't have their own parking.

Didn't feel like it was worth the price but may try it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    121
    46
    20
    5
See reviews for
67
153
26
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee,WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Step through the entrance into an amazing lobby - grand piano, huge fireplace, coaches, space and space. The staircase ascends to a 2nd floor overlooking the whole view. Very nice when coming in from the busy streets.
The staff were very friendly and approachable. They were willing to help solve any problem we had (which we didn't have, but they were ready to help out).
The beds were amazingly comfortable, probably the most comfy I have slept on in a hotel in years. And the breakfast area was set up to easily meet other people if you want to.
Great historic building, wonderfully renovated to today's standards.

Room Tip: We had a two king bed suite. Lots of space. We didn't really use the kitchenette since we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJames37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We enjoyed our small, hardwood-floored, efficiency room in this cool old hotel. It was very clean and everything worked well. The location was perfect for a concert at the Excel center and getting a room for less than $100 in this downtown location felt like a good deal. Parking was $17 in a nearby ramp that supposedly allowed unlimited in-and-out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sstukel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during the state fair. The efficiency room was small yet very cool, the atmosphere is like that of a high end hotel. It's not bad for the price, you get cable, coffee maker and iron inside the room plus free breakfast. Parking is $17/day, there's a bridge that connects the parking to the building. There's a bus stop right in front, if you're not driving you can take the bus to downtown Minneapolis. Very vintage...classic!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Last minute get away - newly discovered property - disappointing experience. Temps in the 90s outdors enter inside room facing unkept rooftop, unreliable, poorly operating air conditioner, toilet wouldn't flush, remote for the tv missing, coffee maker wouldn't work. Hmm, too much money spent with too little return.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the rooftop area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary91958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel has the potential to be a wonderful boutique hotel if management decides to put more energy and money into it. It is located on 2 floors (soon to be 3?) of a beautiful and historic building, which is also an Athletic Club. The lobby is quite exquisite.
The first room we were given had a broken air conditioner and it was an extremely hot weekend.
In the second room it worked, but very loudly. Also the room smelled of cigarette smoke. The desk clerk smelled it when he walked in and promised air freshener, which never came.
The breakfast room was too small to accommodate all the guests, even though there was a 4 or 5 hour window for breakfast. It was not staffed, so when someone finished eating, there was no one to help clean, or were there cleaning supplies around for the guests. Also, during the 3 mornings we were there they ran out of things like napkins, silverware, and plates. The only way to get these things was if a desk clerk came up from the lobby to the 10th floor. The staff was very nice, but seemed to be college students who were not well trained.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanandalan0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The front desk was super friendly,extremely helpful. Sarah was especially kind and was eager to help out in every manner. The hotel has Beautiful architecture, and our room had a fabulous bed, great city view, and perfect proximity to the continental breakfast (10th floor). I love the classy hardwood floors, and the roomy closet space.
Your search is over, stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th floor, city view, king room;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighHatCouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 340? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 340

Property: Hotel 340
Address: 340 Cedar St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1100
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 340 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 340 is a 56 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The hotel is housed in the original University Club building and is listed on the historical register. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as access to the river walk which provides stunning views of the Mississippi river as well as the downtown area. All of the rooms at Hotel 340 include updated flat screen televisions as well as hardwood floors throughout. The hotel's suites feature kitchenettes. Many rooms also boast a river or city view to add to your experience. The hotel lobby provides a spacious area with luxurious couches and chairs to relax in while enjoying a drink from the hotel bar. The second floor mezzanine level provides access to the St. Paul sky-way system which allows for indoor travel to various St. Paul businesses and local event spaces. The Saint Paul Athletic Club is also located within the building and is available to our hotel guests free of charge (MUST BE 18 OR OLDER)! Luxurious steam showers, saunas and a beautifully tiled lap pool is also available to use during their normal business hours. And if you have any extra time, please inquire about their fitness and yoga sessions during your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 340 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing