We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fair!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnesota State Fair

Minnesota State Fair
Ranked #1 of 13 Food & Drink in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Always 12 days of fun ending Labor Day, the Great Minnesota Get-Together welcomes 1.9 million guests annually to a world-class showcase of livestock, agriculture, horse, art, talent and creative activities competitions; 500 food items; 900 free entertainment shows; the Mighty Midway and Kidway; Grandstand concert series; 1,000 vendors; exhibits for kids and adults; and more!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Fair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is everything a state fair is supposed to be - 100,000+ people per day, all the fried food you can imagine (and some you can't), sculptures in butter, pigs, chickens, cows, rabbits, horses, goats, sheep, llamas (and I'm sure I've left some out), a hundred scary rides on the midway, domestic and agricultural exhibits too numerous to mention - a perfect day out. I wish they sold multi-day discount passes; I'd go at least 4 times.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    152
    37
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best fair in the nation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I went there as a child, brought our kids there and continue to visit it every year I can! It has everything.....animals, food of every kind and variety, exhibits which are outstanding plus art and paintings of local artists as well as other, pets and pet shows Everything plus a midway if you are inclined to visit it. Local celebrities as well as Grandstand shows that host many famous entertainment etc.etc. etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank karilouilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best State Fair in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Minnesota State Fair is called the Great Minnesota Get together and I never miss it. It is always held for 12 days starting on a Thursday, with Labor Day being the last day. The attractions are numerous and most of the food is sold on a stick. My favorite is Giggles walleye cakes. Don't miss the butter sculptures, the horticultural displays, the art building, the Eco building and too many others too numerous to mention.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lafscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deep-fried frenzy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My boyfriend and I visited the Minnesota State Fair for the first time this year and had an absolute blast. The true highlight was the food: Vendors sell every kind of deep-fried or on-a-stick concoction you can think of, and they're surprisingly good. Deep-fried Reese's peanut butter cups were a hit, and we loved the deep-fried apple pie from Minneaple Pie (get it with the cinnamon ice cream). I was skeptical of the deep-fried cheese curds, but couldn't stop eating them, and marveled at how fast the servers get those bad boys out to the hordes of customers. Try the cheese curds from The Mouth Trap (inside a pavilion) for the "cheesiest" decor and experience.

Besides the food, the fair is a great place to people watch and check out the cute goats. Wear walking shoes and come with an empty stomach -- we left so full, wishing we could have tried more of the ridiculous treats.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food+drink!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The state fair is an institution in Minnesota. Always buy a bargain book when you enter--it's worth the cost for the freebies you can get. Craft beer in the Horticulture building was awesome and relatively cheap for what you get. Also hit up Sweet Martha's, get a bucket of cookies and then head to the Dairy building to get all you can drink milk!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TripleEej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnesota State Fair also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota State Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing