We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprises in strolling at the fair” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnesota State Fair

Minnesota State Fair
Ranked #1 of 13 Food & Drink in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Always 12 days of fun ending Labor Day, the Great Minnesota Get-Together welcomes 1.9 million guests annually to a world-class showcase of livestock, agriculture, horse, art, talent and creative activities competitions; 500 food items; 900 free entertainment shows; the Mighty Midway and Kidway; Grandstand concert series; 1,000 vendors; exhibits for kids and adults; and more!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“surprises in strolling at the fair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have you ever felt the summer would go out like a bang? Well it will be your choice to end it successfully by visiting the many varied food venues, and activities just popping out spontaneous enough that you're not confined to the paper information of scheduled events which traditionally are not my way of seeking fun, believe me, it will pop out of that activity you may happen to stumble across when walking through the jungle of people that may irritate the most tolerant that choose to venture out there. It seems very safe as plenty of officers from fringe to local officers help patrol the area. You must pay to get into the fair, but there are so many samples and prizes you may win, it does not seem possible to spend more than you should have to in order to enjoy the festivities. Do not forget the end of the evening fireworks!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    152
    37
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Meeting Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The state fairground becomes a social meeting place for the people of the state during the fair. The huge ground is decorated with stalls of goods. Lots of eating spots and entertaining stuffs make visiting the fair worthy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rizvi_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved the Minnesota State Fair...went three times!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Minnesota has an awesome State Fair! We went three times while it was there and had a great time every time. However, knowing now what I didn't know then I would never go on the last day of the fair again. I t was literally wall to wall people...to the point you could barely move! The only place I've ever seen that crowded was Disneyland, when they were getting ready to shut down the Electric Parade. The entertainment were real headliners like Reba McEntire, Toby Keith and Brooks and Dunn too name a few! The fair was huge and there was plenty to see. I had to try these little cheese balls everyone was eating called Cheese Curds that they were dipping in Marinara Sauce. Yummy! It's soft mild cheddar deep fried...they were so good! They had deep fried everything! I would love to go back again sometime!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Experience a huge slice of Minnesota culture.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The fairgrounds host everything from huge horse shows to car and gun shows, sales of every kind and even concerts. Perhaps the most important event in the state is held at the end of August through Labor Day. The Minnesota State Fair is a sweating, munching, seething mass of blissed out humanity. Come for the corn dogs, stay for the deep fried Snickers bar!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheBarnGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place for events, expecially the State Fair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have visited many times, for various events including special sales and rubber stamping and scrapbooking conventions. But the best use of the fairgrounds comes every year at the end of August through Labor day! The great Minnesota get together offers almost everything you could ever imagine, on a stick. Always a good time, albeit expensive, start saving now if you plan to go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnesota State Fair also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota State Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing