We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Joan's in the Park

Joan's in the Park
Reserve with OpenTable
Joan's in the Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bayard
Transit: Snelling Avenue @ Ford Parkway
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

In our month of trying new (to us) restaurants, we gave Joan's a shot and are so glad we did. Set on a nondescript corner, Joan's is a gem. We were greeted like long-time friends in a casual yet professional way. Server was also great....approachable yet appropriate. On to the food:

Started with an amazing loaf of homemade bread, brushed with butter. I'm not a real bread person, but even I loved this. I had the carrot tartare which was a great take on the concept. Finely minced carrots, accompanied by hazelnuts, microgreens, and a nice vinaigrette. Partner had the heirloom tomato salad on top of brioche. Excellent.

Entrees were the chicken which was the most succulent chicken we've had. It's a large portion, with the breast somewhat rolled, and the savory/sweet glaze was amazing. I had the salmon with lentils. I would have liked the salmon medium rare, so wanted a lighter hand on the sear but it was a nice dish. We split the browned butter pudding, a cross between crème brulee and panna cotta. Great N/A beer in Thomasbrau. We'll be back. A delightful place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanderson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    39
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

First visit at this small, well served and marvelous new treat. Great wine list, knowledgeable staff, perfectly finished and tasty courses. Small but comfortable space, with easy conversation added to the enjoyment of the evening. Never rushed, promptly served and really tasted food made this a must do again! It was a delightful evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You know it is a marvelous meal when...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

You hardly talk over dinner because you are so engrossed in the flavors and smells and textures...

After hearing how wonderful Joan's in the Park was, we decided to try. When we arrived, my first thought was "I used to bring my kids to a pizza joint that was here..." and then stepped into a quaintly beautiful world elegantly appointed and welcoming. Greeted warmly at the door, we were seated in the outdoor area by request, leisurely sipped wine while trying to rule out menu items and decide. Started with the smoked lamb ribs and calamari, moved on to the kale caesar salad (very rich...) and then ordered the scallops and roast chicken. Between the two of us, we would have licked the plates clean if it were not for being raised with manners...lol.

Hands down, the chicken was the best I have ever had... Really was. She told us it took 3 days to prep and brine... Well it shows in the rich, moist, flavorful dish. Staff took great care of us and were attentive and friendly, and both owners stopped by multiple times to make sure everything was good.

No hesitations whatsoever in recommending this gem of a restaurant! We will be returning for sure...

Helpful?
1 Thank JjJbabcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“so surprised at this little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

frankly, i was only looking for a quick dinner out with a friend where we could chat and relax. i found this restaurant on the map and had never heard of it. i am glad i made the reservation.

the furnishings and area are immaculate, the staff very friendly and the offerings so flavorful

we sat outside and enjoyed the evening breeze. the tables are nicely spaced so that you can have a conversation without having to talk over anyone. the atmosphere is very very relaxing.

the entrees are well thought out. the menu is limited but everything we tried, from the appetizers to the main course, was flavorful and cooked just right. i had the rib eye and will definitely come back for more.

this place is a keeper!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graycloudrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good service, good wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We visited with two other couples on a Friday night. Service was outstanding, and an extensive selection of great wines by the glass. A special on Caymus Cabernet wine by the glass was popular with our whole table. Nice to see a promotion like that from time to time!

While the menu is a bit limited, everyone really enjoyed their selections, especially the locally-sourced, bone-in pork chop. Perfectly prepared. We're assuming that the menu rotates seasonally.

My wife had the day boat scallops which featured a beautiful presentation, but was heavy on the sodium. The lobster kohlrabi salad made up for it.

The hard wooden chairs made the experience a bit uncomfortable, but there is also outdoor seating that looked delightful.

Killer desserts! We had the frozen strawberry frappe with merrange (sp?) and edible flowers. :)

Give it a try. You'll like it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TRiverMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joan's in the Park also viewed

 

Been to Joan's in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing