We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zoo is a great free facility - wonderful place for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Como Park Zoo & Conservatory

Como Park Zoo & Conservatory
Ranked #1 of 116 things to do in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in historic Como Park, this popular zoo, especially known for its California sea lion exhibit, also features a great cat display, gorillas and giraffes.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
980 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Zoo is a great free facility - wonderful place for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Minneapolis/St. Paul has two major zoos - the very large (and expensive) Minnesota Zoo, and the the Como Park Zoo in St. Paul. The Como Park Zoo has been much beloved for decades. It's free, the animals are easy to see. There also are very popular (free) seal shows.

This is a great place for families. The price is terrific (free) and you can have a lot of fun looking at the animals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    403
    74
    14
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I'm biased since I've been involved with the Zoo for many years, but truly a gem in that it is free. The observatory is a "must see" when visiting the Twin Cities.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie21075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Como Conservatory and Japanese Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Conservatory was beautiful especially the sunken garden which in addition to looking beautiful, smelled wonderful! We enjoyed our walk in the Japanese gardens and will return in weather when the water will be running. Como is a real gem in the City of St. Paul!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebbieMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

First let me say I love the Marjorie McNeely Conservatory at Como Park. What better way to spend an afternoon (especially a winter afternoon) than in a tropical paradise. First off, they've got an exhibit called 'Tropical Encounters' which is an enclosure that has ponds with fish and turtles, birds flying around, and a sloth sitting in a tree. Every 15 minutes or so 'steam' comes over the water to make it seem like you are in a rainforest. This is only one of the many exhibits in the conservatory. My favorite exhibit is the Japanese Garden. This is outdoors and only open during warmer months (May through September). It is beautiful and peaceful. All the plants are winter hardy or native to Minnesota, but are planted in such a way as to evoke the look and feel of a true Japanese Garden. There's even a Tea House. I was once fortunate enough to go to the tea ceremony. It was wonderful. Como Park is my favorite place to go to relax. There's also a lake, a golf course, picnic grounds and a zoo that get's better every year. There is no fee to visit, but you can give a free will donation. I always give $5-$10 dollars as the conservatory and zoo are so enjoyable. It is well worth any donation you could make. There is a $35 charge for the Tea Ceremony. If you've never been to a Tea Ceremony I suggest you try it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Family Excursion, on a budget.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I drive about 80 miles one way to bring our kids to the Como Zoo once a year. It is a great day trip and voluntary donations of $3 per adult & $2 for kids make it affordable for any budget. This year we even packed lunches, spread out a blanket in the grass of one of the surrounding parks and had a nice picnic before entering the zoo.
The zoo itself is kept clean and has a nice variety of animals for the price. I have been to a few other zoo's that definitely have more animals but a higher price tag goes along with it.
We will continue going here for many years to come and visit the other zoo's every few years just to change it up.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IHeartTravel767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Como Park Zoo & Conservatory also viewed

 

Been to Como Park Zoo & Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing