We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic secret...tell no one!”

Ward 6 Food & Drink
Ranked #13 of 889 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Excellent food and drink in a friendly atmosphere. We have 20 taps of Minnesota craft beer, classic and new cocktails, a surprising wine list, made from scratch food with high quality (mostly local) ingredients.
St.Paul -Mpls
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic secret...tell no one!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is a fantastic find. The atmosphere starts your fun the minute you walk into the place. You have to love it! The food will never disappoint and there is something for every taste. I recommend the fish and chips but if you are a burger lover...you will be well satisfied. The crowds tell the story...good food, good fun, and friendly staff!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank citysmooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    57
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Ward 6 is a small, but VERY friendly bar / restaurant. The staff was a fun group who did their best to keep us amused while we waited for a table. There were only 4 of us ( we 3 plus my mother) and we had 3 meals that we shared. We had a reuben, fish & chips, and a hamburger. The food was very good as was the local craft beer selection. Our little guy ate what he could from our meals and even he - a fussy eater - enjoyed the food. Amazing !
The pricing was very reasonable.
We highly recommend Ward 6.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjjke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
308 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant worth visiting”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very pleasant first time in this bar restaurant and a helpful wait server with lunchtime menu selection.

A tender chicken sandwich and a Reuben sandwich with fresh cut fries accompanied by local brewed beer. Topped off with the cherry pie. All reasonably priced.

What more could you ask for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mars1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
723 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This local bar/restaurant just north of Swede Hollow is a friendly neighborhood place. The fish and chips is some of the best around. The food is generally pretty good and the small dining room bar is usually crowded. No reservations would mean a long wait on a Friday night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OneAddictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A friend and I had lunch at Ward 6. My friend grew up in the Dayton's Bluff area (I grew up on the "east side") of St. Paul, so it was great to see the neighborhood thriving. It is a bar, that serves food. The service was great and the food was delicious. My friend had the soup - a ginger curry that was a bit spicy, and beet salad, which she thoroughly enjoyed. I had a great burger and fries. It's a small place, and the tables are a little close together, but the servers didn't seem to have trouble. It was a little challenging for my friend, who has had ankle surgery and sometimes uses a cane. There seems to be plenty of parking on the street, side and behind the building. I look forward to returning for dinner with my husband - he'll enjoy the beer choices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ward 6 Food & Drink also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Ward 6 Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing