We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Think global, act local"”

Ward 6 Food & Drink
Ranked #12 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent food and drink in a friendly atmosphere. We have 20 taps of Minnesota craft beer, classic and new cocktails, a surprising wine list, made from scratch food with high quality (mostly local) ingredients.
Daejeon, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Think global, act local"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

New favorite pub!

Great customer service, high standards, very prompt with fulfilling service.

Most outstanding feature for me was there desire to bring in and primarily serve local brews and local food. As a small business owner, I don't mind forking over the dough to pay for local fare and support my neighbors. Love thy neighbor stuff, yeh?

I had the Fatty Melt, which put me in a food coma and a couple of local beers.

Excellent and fun atmosphere - would love to watch a soccer match there sometime!

Go there now!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnm416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    55
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for lunch, too! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We visited for late lunch. No waiting, still excellent service. We had an excellent Reuben, a good beet salad, with spiced rum raisin pie for a great finish.

Helpful?
Thank JimiHendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
157 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived at 6:00 PM for a girls dinner. The place was packed and we waited at the very packed bar. Service was friendly and after about 10 min the 6 of us were seated. Ordered the fish and chips. Was very good. Everyone at our table loved their food, would go back again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyto4blessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent, simply for the reuben”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is my go to place for dinner on the Eastside. The staff are all wonderful, and the drink list is better than most all other restaurants in the twin cities areas. Some insider tips:
1. If you are feeling a little adventurous (or just want something different) get the charchuterie platter. It is house made, delicious, and fun to share with others.
2. Don't be afraid to ask for samples of beers before you buy. They have a lot of different local beers you may have not had before, and they are always happy to bring you a couple of different samples. Nothing is worse than buyers regret when it comes to beer.
3. If you like reubens, GET THE REUBEN!!!
I don't want to spoil all of the fun so I'll limit this list to 3...
4. Get an adult milkshake for dessert.
OK make that 4, like other have said they don't take reservations so get there early or a little later in the evening if you don't want to wait. I hope this was helpful, Happy eating everyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Service, Awesome Bloody Mary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We came here after reading a review in the city pages and will definetely be coming back. I would rate the Bloody Mary within my top five. If you like horseradish, you'll love this one. The quiche was probably the best I've ever eaten. The crust was flakey and light, and the eggs were silky and flavorfull. Fantastic contrasting textures. I don't drink beer, but if that is your thing, they have an excellent local beer selection, and my husband was not dissapointed. I ended my meal with a saffron infused vodka cocktail. An excellent refreshing yet complex summer drink.

Also, can I just say how wonderful it is to not find a ridiculously busy brunch place? All the staff was friendly and attentive. I felt totally comfortable and relaxed, a rarity while brunching in a metropolitan area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ward 6 Food & Drink also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Ward 6 Food & Drink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing