We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best scoop on St. Paul”
Review of Grand Ole Creamery

Grand Ole Creamery
Ranked #5 of 25 Dessert in Saint Paul
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We were the first creamery in the Twin Cities to serve premium ice cream. For 30 years families, friends, and even tourists have been coming to our ice cream shop to take part in this piece of the local experience. We serve your traditional favorites like chocolate or vanilla, but we suggest trying one of our original flavors like "Black Hills Gold" and "Sweet Cream". We are always rotating between our over 300 flavors, so be sure to come back again and again to try them all! This location also has a pizzeria. Along with delicious pizza, we serve fresh salads and hoagies. Come grab lunch or dinner and then enjoy a cone for dessert. We also offer delivery and online ordering. We can also cater your next event, host your next party, and even offer wholesale ice cream options. Email or call us for more information.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best scoop on St. Paul”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Handmade ice cream, huge scoops. Great neighborhood family place! The staff is very friendly and the service is fantastic. On hot days the line can stretch down Grand Ave.

Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    41
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
293 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Old fashioned, homemade ice cream!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

They had me at the smell of fresh waffle cones. We love visiting Grand Ole Creamery whenever we are in the area. The choices of ice cream is outstanding, the product is incredible and it's just a really fun, iconic Grand Avenue destination. You can't go wrong.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lkhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ICE CREAM”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We all scream for Ice Cream! Amazing place for some good old homemade ice cream. The waffle cones are so delicious with a choice of many varities of ice cream. Be prepared to wait in line, especially on those spring like days when everyone is out walking the dog.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,128 reviews
1,300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 833 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Ice Cream”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It has been a while since we have been to Grand Ole Creamery but I recall when it opened. We were living in St. Paul at the time and I was a graduate student. This quickly became our favorite spot for a treat. The homemade ice cream with the creative flavors was always wonderful, especially when it came in the home-crafted waffle cone with the malted milk ball dropped in the bottom. The old time parlor feel made it great place to enjoy a cone. We have dropped in a few times since then (whenever we make it back to the cities) and it is still great. Wherever you eat dinner in St. Paul, save room for dessert here.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible Ice Cream”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Before heading back to South Dakota, we stopped at Grand Ole Creamery. Previously, I had been there and loved their honey ice cream. Since the flavors rotate, the honey ice cream wasn't available, but the pumpkin pie ice cream was fabulous- it even had marshmallows inside of it. Other had the pistachio, coconut, Mexican chocolate and more. Everyone was very happy with their ice cream! They sell pints of it as well, but we didn't have a cooler to take any home with us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hsbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Ole Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Grand Ole Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing