We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming restaurant, excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forepaugh's

Forepaugh's
Reserve with OpenTable
Forepaugh's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 876 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walnut
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
287 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife is still talking about the Beef Wellington after almost a week; Forepaugh's is now her place of choice for steak. After devouring my rib eye, I understand where she's coming from; but the real winner here is the gravy that is served with it- clearly made from the pan drippings, it is succulent, rich, sweet, and oh so flavorful. It makes the steak and indeed the meal.

We also tried the seared foie gras as well as the duck confit foie gras pate. The pate was the clear winner here; the seared foie gras was tasty, but the pate was by far more succulent, rich, and delightful. For a special occasion, Forepaughs is a no brainer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ACuriousTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    46
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Forepaugh's HAPPY HOUR MENU highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Before going to the Ordway, I stopped at Forepaugh's bar for a drink and appetizer, ordering off the happy hour menu (one of my submitted photos). I was amazed by the Chinese Scallion Flatbread's value, flavor, and generous portion size for only $6.00! The bartender is a dead ringer of Peter Falk, which probably has little to do with gossip that Forepaugh's is haunted! On the other hand, like Lt. Columbo, Forepaugh's bartender provided exceptional customer service in that he graciously substituted blue cheese for goat cheese in the appetizer, let me sample the spiced rum before ordering, plus he supplied a fresh lemon so I could drizzle the juice on top of the appetizer. The happy hour menu at Forepaugh's is an affordable option to enjoy the atmosphere at one of St. Paul's historic landmarks!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Camille L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
205 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The history makes this fun...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Such a fun place and great history. Every five years since 1978 I have found myself here for dinner. The menu is much more creative than it was in years past and the taste of the food is excellent. The mood is both romantic and professional. The staff is efficient and friendly. Parking is valet. I like to sit in the room looking at the pictures on the wall wondering what words were spoken in this place before my time on this earth. It is worth the adventure for all ages.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Understated sophistication”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This restaurant is located in an elegant old Victorian mansion. The Beef Wellington surpassed our wildest expectations. The scallops with fried pork were delightfully matched with fresh fruit. The waiter was attentive and catered to our every need. It was a cold snowy night but we were seated in a quaint parlour room with a roaring fireplace. Many unexpected gems on the menu: Asian and Italian appetizers along with a vast wine list, most available by the glass.

The only complaint is that wheel chair entry is through the rear. The snow was not properly shoveled, the pathway was too narrow and slippery, and the ice was dangerously packed: not safe for persons with limited mobility. But, the person in our party who was confined to a wheel chair enjoyed the hilarious efforts the rest of us made to get her into the back door.

Good wine. Good food. Good company. It was a great evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent_Traveler_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
390 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting and deliciously creative food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family of seven had a delightful dinner this past Saturday evening at Forepaugh’s. We were seated in a small upstairs room of this beautiful old mansion with a few other tables in the room. Despite a fairly long narrow table, conversation from one end to the other was no problem in this quiet, romantic setting.

Our food was outstanding. Despite some concerns about the potential richness we all shared an order of poutine to begin the meal. This was not at all like the poutine found at burger joints in Canada. Delicious and not greasy at all. Following this a variety of salads and soups were ordered all of which were bursting with flavor. For mains, duck, scallops and strozzapreti were superb. The walleye was rather plain (but tasteful). To be fair, the walleye was fine, but nothing special and did provide a choice for a couple of our members who have more limited palates. And then there was the deconstructed banana cream pie. Often desserts are disappointing at high end restaurants, but in this case it was just the opposite.

Perhaps best of all, everything on the menu is made in house from locally sourced (whenever possible) ingredients.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Forepaugh's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing