We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent, service even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The St. Paul Grill

The St. Paul Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The St. Paul Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$60
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Recognized annually as the best restaurant in Minneapolis and St. Paul, The St. Paul Grill is On Everyone's List! Business or romance, lunch or dinner, casual or upscale. This downtown icon features a classic, yet surprisingly diverse dining menu ranging from prime steaks and thick-cut chops to succulent poultry and fresh seafood. The Grill's classic and impressive mahogany and brass bar is filled with the Twin Cities' finest selection of rare spirits and wines, and is host to the premiere scotch club in Minnesota. From the incredible food and the impeccable service to the gorgeous view of Rice Park, The St. Paul Grill is a destination restaurant with a reputation that spans generations. It's the kind of place that has a very loyal following and makes new regulars all the time.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food excellent, service even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with 8 other folks. I had been told ahead of time to try the hash browns and they are wonderful. Three examples of the excellent service revolve around them. First, the waitress said we might want to split them. Second, when I asked what made them so creamy, she went back to the chef to inquire. Then, without being asked, all of the bills were split perfectly. Even order we had split. The food is wonderful, the ambience romantic, service excellent. What's not to love.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    109
    54
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Seafood appetizer was good but overpriced for the amount of seafood. Had the steak tenderloin for dinner and it was very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the steak tenderloin and seafood appetizer. The cost of seafood has been rising, but we have worked diligently to provide great tasting food at an affordable price. We recommend the sampler and its calamari, shrimp, and ahi tuna for 4-6 people. We hope you will return and please let us know how we can make sure you feel the sampler or anything meets your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Such a great place if you are downtown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have always had such great food at the St. Paul Grill. We have sat in the dining room and bar and the service is always fantastic with food to match. We recently went before a Wild game and sat in the bar. My husband and I split the Ahi Tuna Charlie's and the Caesar Salad with blackened scallops. Throw in a couple of Stellas and you have the perfect dinner :)

Our server was quick, responsive and on top of it. Highly recommend this restaurant for a beer and an app or a fine dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aquabluemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Brunch to die for....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great service. Great food. Great setting. And prices to match, but it's worth it. I have been here twice and the quality of everything is consistent and delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed brunch with the great service, food and setting! We hope you will return soon for a third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Special Occasion Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We ate at the St. Paul Grill twice for special occasions in August, one of which was a family birthday party. The food was excellent, and the service incredible. The trout was cooked just perfectly, and the fish and vegetables were incredibly fresh. The wait time can be long, even on week nights, so a reservation is recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and for your review. We are so glad you chose to visit The Grill twice in August; we are very honored. We pride ourselves on creating special experiences - whether for a birthday or just a Tuesday night. Your recommendation for making a reservation is a good one and thankfully we have an acclaimed bar to relax and enjoy prior to being seated in the dining room. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The St. Paul Grill also viewed

 

Been to The St. Paul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing