We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzy classy atmosphere”
Review of The St. Paul Grill

The St. Paul Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The St. Paul Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 891 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$60
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Recognized annually as the best restaurant in Minneapolis and St. Paul, The St. Paul Grill is On Everyone's List! Business or romance, lunch or dinner, casual or upscale. This downtown icon features a classic, yet surprisingly diverse dining menu ranging from prime steaks and thick-cut chops to succulent poultry and fresh seafood. The Grill's classic and impressive mahogany and brass bar is filled with the Twin Cities' finest selection of rare spirits and wines, and is host to the premiere scotch club in Minnesota. From the incredible food and the impeccable service to the gorgeous view of Rice Park, The St. Paul Grill is a destination restaurant with a reputation that spans generations. It's the kind of place that has a very loyal following and makes new regulars all the time.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Buzzy classy atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The restaurant has a real buzz when you enter yet at the same time has a classy feel about it. We had a drink at the bar to start and the cocktails were excellent. The table was a bit of a squeeze and not much room so deducting points for that. Service was variable - our waiter John was a bit strange - one minute he would engage with you the next he would ignore you. Food was excellent in particular the Cajun prawns and rib eye steak. Final bill was a bit pricey but overall worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    112
    54
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
208 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very solid restaurant”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was what I describe as a solid restaurant. The food was all prepared very well. In fact I had Walleye which is a fish I totally enjoy but rarely see on menus anywhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
426 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“All the way around - great place.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were staying at the Hotel over night after having had the High Tea experience in the afternoon. The dinner was a great experience! Ambiance was lovely, the food was superb and the service was fabulous! We had left overs that wouldn't have fit in the small room refrigerator and the bus staff suggested he keep it in the kitchen fridge for us to pick up in am. I would definitely dine here again and indeed plan to soon. Even the old standard "Shrimp Scampi" that my mother in law ordered was knock out good....and that's hard to do with Shrimp, butter and garlic. Great job and kudos to the chef and service team!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MollyAW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food you can count on”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lively ambience, very good food that is a bit pricey, occasionally the atmosphere is a little loud, especially when crowded with a pre-concert crowd. But it's a great restaurant for special occasions. Beautiful setting, beautiful view.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalvia96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisseyHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at The St. Paul Grill, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for visiting The St. Paul Grill and for sharing your experience. We are so glad you enjoy the ambiance even on busy nights when there is more energy in the restaurant and bar. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
682 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“The St. Paul lives up to it's reputation and prime location.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you can get there early you can find a table in the bar, for the restaurant side you definitely need a reservation. We stopped here for Sunday brunch prior to a show at the Ordway. This an awesome hotel and the grill does the hotel proud. Our server Charles is one of the best one could ever hope for. You receive a huge free sticky bun with every order (even though I don't care for them, I tried a bite and it was delicious).
I had a Bloody Mary which was awesome. They also serve mimosas for only $3 each.
I ordered the corned beef hash, which is baked inside hash browns. Generous serving and incredibly delicious. We also had the Smoked Salmon Appetizer, again expertly prepared. Charles made sure we had everything we asked for and more.
This is probably the best place in downtown St. Paul. My compliments to the chef and the entire staff as well. Bravo!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The St. Paul Grill also viewed

 

Been to The St. Paul Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing