We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our first time visit!”
Review of Moscow on the Hill

Moscow on the Hill
Ranked #13 of 887 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northfield, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved our first time visit!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

After a last minute recommendation of this restaurant by a friend, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our first visit here. From the unique vodka martini, to the excellent appetizer sampler and main dish, we enjoyed everything about Moscow on the Hill! The server made wonderful recommendations and we found our first try at Russian foods to exceed our expectations. An accordion musician added to the ambiance. We will be back and have already recommended it to family.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    107
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,002 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside and lovely patio, very nice food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a very nice meal recently on their patio - beautiful fall night. Patio is very pleasant, inside also very nice.
We had chicken kiev which was very good, with chocolate mouse for dessert. Previously have had beef strogonoff here - also very good.

Lots of vodka and other options for those interested.

A nice option in the Twin Cities restaurant scene - this place is quite distinctive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seniordad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Atmosphere - Service Could use Improvement”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Went to Moscow on the Hill for the first time a few weeks ago for happy hour. I found the food to be very good. The menu was simple, but the flavors were authentic and the food was satisfying. If you are new to Russian food, come during happy hour. You can sample small plates of some of their best choices for great prices. The vodka drinks were good and the outdoor patio was a nice relaxing choice for happy hour. The only downside was the service was consistently poor and slow. When we first arrived the waitress was very attentive and helpful. But after our drinks and food arrived, she never stopped back. We had ordered a bread basket, which didn't arrive with our meals (which took quite awhile). We asked the gentleman who brought our food about it and he said it was coming. Near the end of the meal we had to eventually flag down someone else to ask about it again. We never really saw our waitress again, and we sat with empty water and drink glasses for most of the time there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant & Excellent Service”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Moscow on the Hill is a charming restaurant. We took out of town guests on a Friday evening and the restaurant was packed. The restaurant is charming but tends to be a bit loud (it didn't bother me). If you think of it when making your reservation, asked to be seated next to the window -- very pretty, especially in the evening.

We had some mixed reviews on the food with our group. First of all, everybody agreed that the herring appitizer was bad news - very mushy and tasteless - a real disappointment. I personally was disappointed with my chicken Keiv as whatever spice they used to fill the chicken was completely overbearing. The pork medallions and steak were done to perfection. Further, the choice of vodkas were excellent with some unusual choices. The service was second to none.

I'd also like to mention that their outdoor seating is beautiful -- once again -- the outdoor lighting adds a lot of ambiance. I also couldn't help but think it would be ideal for a large event/dinner.

We will definately be back to this neighborhood gem!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The restaurant had no problem in promptly accommodating our party of 8, which included three
children. We selected from among a variety of specialties, and every thing was well prepared
and presented. Among our favorites were the dumplings, two types of borscht, pork tenderloin
and chicken Kiev, just to name a few. The portions sizes were such that we had alas no room for
dessert. All in all highly recommended and reasonable in price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redramPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moscow on the Hill also viewed

 

Been to Moscow on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing