We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital View Cafe

Capital View Cafe
Ranked #34 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Capital View Cafe is a family owned business since 1993. We serve breakfast and lunch that is made to order fresh from the grill. We offer american and mexican food that is made from homemade recipes and sauces that will keep you coming back for more. We offer Catering for all of your special events. We invite you to come and visit our Cafe, friendly staff and down home good food.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is one of our favorite breakfast spots! The food is always good. We have never had a bad meal and the portions are generous. The wait staff are always friendly. Our favorite choices are any of the Mexican breakfasts. The homemade salsa is really good as well. Would recommend this place. Always nice to support local businesses and not the usual chain restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mprochn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennock, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had the Caramel Apple French Toast the first time that I went there. It was quite possibly the best breakfast I have ever had. The French Toast was covered in cinnamon and sugar, warm apples, caramel and whipped cream. It was fabulous, I would recommend this very highly. It was very busy and the staff still came around with coffee when ever my cup was getting low. The menu was quite extensive with everything from omlets to breakfast burritos, it was hard to decide what to have. I would like to go there for dinner sometime soon and try their meals. I will be back for sure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Biscuits and Gravy nothing special!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had the biscuits and gravy. The gravy was cold and gloppy.. Not much sausage in it too. I could tell the gravy was not freshly made. Maybe made three or four days ago. The biscuits were hard and old. The two eggs were good and sausage links. Meal would have been better if the biscuits and gravy were fresh. Will return but won't order biscuits and gravy. Waitress was really nice and kept my coffee cup full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HOla12933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cajun bencinnamonedict”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Great Food Cajun Benedict Was the bomb. Great little place. Service was tops. Coffee cup kept filled to the brim always. Kids ate my leftovers today. Grounded! !! No room for the cinnamon rolls that looked amazing. We will go back. Great Menu!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradsheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, plenty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Another small café type gem in St Paul. Love this place for breakfast or lunch. Never had a bad meal there and the portions are large and wonderful. The wait staff and owners are very friendly and interested in feedback. Wish they were open for dinner and wish they were in Maryland not Minnesota. After breakfast or lunch take a ride by the bridge across the river and enjoy a beautiful view of St Paul and the river!! Can get very crowded on the weekends but have never had a long wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lewchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capital View Cafe also viewed

 
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Capital View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing