We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adequate coffee shop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunn Bros - Northwest Opticians

Dunn Bros - Northwest Opticians
Ranked #6 of 66 Coffee & Tea in Saint Paul
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
256 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“adequate coffee shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I went in here for some coffee and breakfast. It was average, but I didn't find anything special. The staff was friendly enough, but it did take a long time to get my breakfast sandwich. But they had no complaints about customers lingering while reading the paper. I try to avoid the big national chain coffee chain, so this met my needs.

It's sort of interesting how they share space with an optician (who was not open), not an expected combination. I did go back a day later to get a sandwich for dinner, but found nothing appealing on the menu so I found a sub shop a few blocks away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ral338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walker, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Coffee Shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I enjoyed sitting by the fireplace, reading the morning paper, and talking with the locals. I ducked in during a rain shower, and the staff were very kind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the few places open in downtown St. Paul on a Saturday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The nearby Starbucks was closed so we gave this a try. The coffee was good and there are plenty of tables and chairs as well as a fireplace to sit in front of, if you want to linger.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank annalea52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
188 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Dirty Dishes in plastic bins in AM”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Lazy wait help just stand around and talk with each other.
7 am and place barely openly and gross disgusting dishes not tended to. I refuse to get coffee there. I would fire those gals if I was boss for Laziness and rude behavior.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stpauliaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Coffee and Cops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

If you are in downtown St Paul and want a coffee type beverage or a quick sandwich try this location. They have a big fireplace that is pleasant to sit in front of when it is cold. They are near most of the major bus lines and near the Rice Park cultural hub. This is also a stop for cops and public safety workers on break so you always have a sense of security and you can sometimes overhear some interesting things.

Selections of food items is limited and bake good quality vary but prices are low.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MNCondoDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunn Bros - Northwest Opticians also viewed

South Saint Paul, MN
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Dunn Bros - Northwest Opticians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing