We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Juicy Nookie!”

Casper & Runyon's Nook
Ranked #3 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Juicy Nookie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I couldn't help myself but have another Juicy Nookie burger while at the Nook again this past weekend. Frankly, this has to be the best darn burger I have ever had. So much so, I seem to always choose this burger every time we visit. It's the combination of the bun, cheese stuffed and grilled burger with fresh condiments that make this an unbeatable choice. The burger is only served medium and the cheese inside the burger is hot so bite in with caution. We also chose the fried cheese curds which were off the hook. If you have the chance, try the Sweet Potato fries that comes with a special dipping sauce. Sorry, not sure what the ingredients of the sauce are but the combination of these fries and sauce is amazing. Keep in mind, the place is small that's why it's appropriately called the "Nook". Our wait on a Saturday was easily 25 minutes. If you don't mind being served at the bar the wait may be shorter. They have tables in the basement as well, which looks like a dining car adjacent to the bowling alley. I'm not sure why they offer bowling...frankly they should be tables too. The menu offers something for everybody so give the Nook a try. Just a warning, parking is a challenge as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    107
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
240 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“When in the Twin Cities, don't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went once because of it being a DDD and ended up going back two days later. It was great. The Nook is just a neighborhood bar, long and narrow with not much seating (maybe 40-50 tops). Beer is midwest, nothing outstanding, but good. I like Grainbelt Premium. But then we get to the food. Excellent burgers. We had a Philly Burger and a Guy's Big Bite. Big Bite especially good. Stuffed with pepper jackcheese and then topped with a piece of roast beef and bacon. Philly burger stuffed with swiss cheese and covered with green peppers. Yum. Had cheese curds also, but not a big deal. Liked the place so much that a couple of days later went back to try something different. This time went with the Spanish Fly burger, half beef and half chorizo in a patty and then stuffed with queso cheese. My wife had the 8 piece wings and it was a meal in itself. Comes with your choice of 9 different sauces starting from bland to put out the fire. 15 bucks for a great a filling meal. Can't be beat. Will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StonecreekArabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Juicy Lucy is a must! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We visited the other location named "Shamrock's" .....great Irish pub and excellent service and food.

Helpful?
Thank cheri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The juicy Nookie was Good, cooked right & tasty. The hand cut fries are snappy & crisp. Beer is good and cold, 1919 Root Beer is a taste of old fashion. Clean place. Staff is friendly & attentive. Limited parking, small inside, you have to wait

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good burgers, laid back atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was a great place to stop for a burger and beer after a day of meetings. The Juicy Nookie was tasty and well cooked. The service was attentive and friendly, and the atmosphere is laid back and relaxed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casper & Runyon's Nook also viewed

 

Been to Casper & Runyon's Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing