We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint cafe, tasty treats”
Review of Finnish Bistro

Finnish Bistro
Ranked #91 of 889 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
198 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quaint cafe, tasty treats”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What a find while attending a conference at Luther Seminary. Within walking distance of campus...a quaint cafe with tasty sweet as well as savory treats. Enjoy coffee or a glass of wine or beer with a delicious quiche or pasty. It's small so can be crowded but it is a comfy atmosphere to eat with friends and colleagues.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We arrived here 8:00 on a Saturday morning and were surprised that it was not busy yet, as so many other places seem to be. The décor was inviting and the large windows across the dining room were lovely. The sunlight bounced off the glass topped tables. As my favourite is 'French toast', I wanted to give theirs a try. Loved the bread part, but too many berries for my liking. Next time I would ask for less berries, as I hated to waste them. Hubby ordered the Quiche. He thought the texture of the egg itself was odd.....very 'smooth' for real eggs, but over-all was tasty. We were intrigued by other items on the lunch/dinner menu and will return to sample them. The coffee from Dunn Bros, which is connected to the Finnish Bistro, was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reliably good, a neighborhood staple”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is the place to get fresh-baked pastries, delicious quiches, breakfast sandwiches, etc. Almost too much to choose from!

A gathering place both for families and singles, with two seating areas to suit (one dining area with tables, the other just for coffee).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spark_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classy Little Cafe”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Located in a genteel, cute neighborhood, the Finnish Bistro has thrived and even expanded their hours. We'd only been there for breakfast/brunch before, but on this visit did lunch. It was busy but no problems getting a table. My favorite is their gyros - odd that is something I normally only order in Greek or Middle Eastern places. Their's is one of the best. House-made pita, served open face, almost tostada style. Tender lamb, great sauce. They share space with a Dunn Bros. coffee shop. In fact, if you want coffee or tea you go to the Dunn Bros. counter for that. Hint - go to Dunn Bros. first, order up a pound of their most excellent, roasted-on-site coffee and you get a free cup of coffee or tea. Then head across the room to put in your food order at FB.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place for breakfast :)”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This place is a great for breakfast... We saw a lot of fresh baked goods which was quite tempting thou.... Had French toast and veg omblets .... Overall a nice ambiance and food ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Net23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finnish Bistro also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Saint Paul, MN
 

Been to Finnish Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing