We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for any train lover!”

Minnesota Transportation Museum
Ranked #46 of 119 things to do in Saint Paul
Attraction details
Goodhue, MN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place for any train lover!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Our son never wants to leave this place! They have several train tables available for kids to play on. There are train cars and engines that kids of all ages can play in and inspect. On Saturdays, they have free train rides with paid entry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tuesdayshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great (mostly) Train Museum”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This Museum is full of trains and fun. It can bring out the kid in anyone. There are just so many things to touch, see and climb on. The volunteers are spectacular! The round house is an extra special treat. If you volunteer, you may get a behind the scene tour where you can see dozens of volunteers painstakingly restoring antique train cars. A true labor of love. It also looks to be an awesome location to host a children's birthday party.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah3Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It was pretty cool, but needs a little organizing”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The name is a little misleading. There is little to nothing about transportation in this museum except for trains. It is a train museum. The number of actifacts, and the amount of information is impressive. But I felt it was laid out poorly and many items not labeled or explained. We found little cases with stuff/info tucked into little nooks and crannies, behind other displays, etc. All of it was interesting, but I wished it had been a progression of the time...showing/explaining what was 1st and why; then moving onto newer items/inventions/technology, why that was important and how it was accomplished. It seemed somewhat disjointed. I'll say again the information and artifacts were good...there are several train cars to walk through; tools; a display on the 1st class service received; display on civil rights as it pertained to railroads; a telegraph system set up; several pictures and info on snow removal (incredible!). my favorite part was the info and display regarding the tracks themselves...pretty cool. We also went outside to see the turn table. I didn't get to read as much as I wanted with 6 kids in tow (my own fault for bringing kids & cousins the 1st time there) but it was worth the trip anyway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oceansoul39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent fun for a rainy day”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The transportation museum is a great place for kids to explore and move around. We saw a birthday party in progress and the kids were having a great time als.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great for the Kids”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I first brought my son here when he was 3 or 4 and we just went back at 14 years old and he still enjoyed it. There are lots of trains kids can climb in and around and some buses to tour. Very cool!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mageestillh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnesota Transportation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota Transportation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing