We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Informational” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raptor Center

The Raptor Center
Ranked #26 of 116 things to do in Saint Paul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1974 as part of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, The Raptor Center rehabilitates more than 700 sick and injured raptors each year, while helping to identify emerging environmental issues related to raptor health and populations. An internationally renowned education facility, The Raptor Center trains veterinary students and veterinarians from around the world to become future leaders in raptor medicine and conservation. In addition, The Raptor Center reaches more than 150,000 people annually through its unique public education programs and events. Come visit the education raptors with a TRC interpretive tour guide. Tours are offered every thirty minutes, on the half hour and hour. 10:30 a.m.-3:30 p.m., Tuesday-Friday 12:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m., Saturday and Sunday Tour Admissions Ages 3-17 $3.00 Ages 18-62 $5.00 Ages 62+ $3.00 U of M staff and students (with ID) are admitted free. Formal programs and other education options available.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Informational”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Brought the kids here to check out the local bird life. It was great to see the birds up close. Not a lot to do for littler children.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jhhiandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

The staff at the Raptor Center are very helpful and friendly. The work they do fixing all the raptors brought into the center is amazing. Many of the staff are volunteers yet they take the time to educate all who come to see the center. Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank mageestillh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is a very humane facility. They take care of and treat and release or treat and use for educational purposes the animals that they receive. It is very educational for all ages.

Helpful?
3 Thank Joelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
545 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Worst Service in St. Paul.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stopped in for a visit/tour on a Sunday shortly after 12pm. We were greeted with a “What do you want?” by the college-aged male behind the desk. Though I am a young twenty-four years old, I have never been so aghast when walking into a building. It was beyond unwelcoming and after we looked around we felt so unwelcomed, like we were burdening him, that we left before the tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JesseWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“University of Minnesota St Paul Campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

An incredible family place to visit - go for a tour - week days of week ends. The lecture is geared to family fun - with plenty of live birds of prey - sculls and feathers. After the tour visit the rehab center exterior cages for injured birds - amazing stories of recovery and re release to nature.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raptor Center also viewed

 

Been to The Raptor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing