We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool atmosphere”
Review of Happy Gnome

Happy Gnome
Reserve with OpenTable
Happy Gnome is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 895 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Selby and MacKubin
Transit: The 21 drops off right in front.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very cool atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stopped here for drinks and had a good time...I have heard the food is very good but had already eaten that night. Had a Ginger Buck drink that was delicious and everyone that we were with enjoyed the interior and service. Will be back to check out the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canniff9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    127
    30
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“good food, extremely noisy”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We ate dinner in the back dining room on a Saturday night before the theater. The food and service were very good - PEI mussels in in a Chorizo/wine sauce was a tasty twist on the classic preparation while the game hen was tender and seasoned very well. Probably unnecessary to say, but the beer selection was great.

On the down side, even in the back room, the noise level is extreme. Some sound dampening wall treatments would be really helpful. I get why the bar area is so noisy, but not why a restaurant would want the back to be the same way. If you are looking for a dining experience where you can have a quiet conversation, this is not the place. Overall though a good experience

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Duck Burger!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I've had duck burgers only a few times but this was was very good. It was very tender, good flavor without being too gamey. Very good service too. Apparently the duck burger is only available part of the year, so I'm coming back ASAP. The other items were a 3, but the DB was a 5!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin cities
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food + great beer = great night”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went for the fantastic beer list but the food was a wonderful surprise. We ordered the short ribs and the ribeye and both were fantastic but slightly over salted. The beet salad was one of the best but the chicken wild rice soup was more brothy than creamy. We told our waiter we were in a bit of a hurry and he was wonderful about keeping our meal flowing without us feeling rushed. We ate upstairs which was quieter and more intimate but a tad dark - we had to use the light on our cell phones to see the menu.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wife-o-matic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“If you like beer, it's a great stop.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Huge beer selection, if you can't find something you like here, you never will. Only had bar food and had the pork tots and the pretzel, both were incredible. It's not cheap but the atmosphere is fun and awesome beer selection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Gnome also viewed

 

Been to Happy Gnome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing