We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the bacon cheese burger!”

Shish Mediterranean Grill & Cafe
Ranked #47 of 892 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Queensbury, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the bacon cheese burger!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The bacon on the cheeseburger is to die for. The flavor of the lamb bacon really compliments the burger. I had the falafel sandwich which was large and yummy. All of the ingredients were fresh and flavorful. I will definitely stop in again when I'm back in Saint Paul!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Favorite Lunch Stop”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

One of our favorite places to go for a Mediterranean lunch! And the espresso drinks are some of the best we have had anywhere in St. Paul! If you are a dessert person save room for one of their wonderful bakery items. Over the past couple years I think we have had almost everything on the menu and have not been disappointed. I especially love the chicken shawarma and the dolmas. Just be prepared to stand in line if you go right at noon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverStopExplor... X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Shish is my favorite breakfast spot in Saint Paul. The Middle Eastern accent on the food at Shish sets it apart from other restaurants. Breakfast from Jerusalem offers spicy ground beef, great humus, tabouli, pita and other accompaniments, in a size that is large enough for two! My new favorite is the Mediterranean Pita: eggs,gyro meat, and feta cheese in a pita. Just the right size for a light breakfast. The coffee is always hot, fresh and robust. Shish is an often overlooked gem on Grand Avenue.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A bit crowded but worth the wait”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I grew up eating homemade Lebanese food so although there's no place that truly compares, the food is REALLY good! The tabouli was a little salty and the hummus had spices on that I didn't care for, but overall everything tastes fresh, looks delicious, and the employees are extremely friendly. It's a little pricey, but what do you expect from Grand Ave?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnes0ta_Rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, , Minnesota, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Nice little secret. Flavorful food with lots of options for vegetarians. Great dessert options also. Enjoyed green curry dish. Hummus was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank MnMom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shish Mediterranean Grill & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Shish Mediterranean Grill & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing