We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst cornbeef & cabbage dinner we have ever had out for St Patricks Day”
Review of Sweeney's Saloon

Sweeney's Saloon
Ranked #197 of 888 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: St. Paul neighborhood saloon that has a laid back atmosphere where all are welcome. Enjoy your favorite domestic taps as well as a nice selection of award winning micro brews. Great burgers and the best wings in town.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worst cornbeef & cabbage dinner we have ever had out for St Patricks Day”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Plenty of corn beef, cabbage and potatoes but served extremely cold. No carrots or bread that traditionally goes along with this meal. We had to request butter which we were given only two frozen patties that would not even melt because the food was so cold. We were served on styrofoam plates and one plastic fork each. We had to ask for plastic knives in order to cut the cabbage because it was almost raw and pale in color. I would not recommend this place for food to anyone. It was our first experience of eating here and it will be our last.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bar!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

They have AWESOME specials! You can't beat 50 cent tacos! Seating can get tight, but come early and stay late! It's a busy little joint, so service may not be the best, but it's definitely not because they don't care. Parking can be a pain, but once you're in the doors, it's all worth it! Nom nom nom!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minnes0ta_Rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cajun Wings...and Poor Man's Special”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I really love this place. The Cajun Wings are the best wings I've ever had and I get wings everywhere I go. They are crispy and salty and seasoned to perfection. They also feature great specials throughout the week and throughout the day. The place is not too crowded, service is fast and parking is good. What more do you need for a good time?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ZA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Went to Sweeney's on New Year's Day with my husband and two other couples and had a really great time. We all enjoyed the awesome happy hour - the delicious 50-cent tacos and $3 Summits are hard to beat! My husband and I have been there a number of times for the happy hour, a few times with one other couple, and we've enjoyed ourselves every time. This is a friendly, relaxed place, and we look forward to going back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaJodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge patio with fireplace, and wings too!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

If you're hungry for wings, try Sweeney's. I think they call it 50 cent wings, I can't remember exactly. However, the patio is great for the summertime and even better in the fall with the fireplace lit. Grab a warm drink and sit outside! This is a great neighborhood bar with a huge outdoor space.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsquared35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweeney's Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Sweeney's Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing