We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be!”

Patrick McGovern's Pub
Ranked #25 of 895 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The place to be!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

St Patty's - Here - Great time! Go! Highly Recommend! Do note, however, everyone in the metro are there, too. So, busy, popular, amazing time!
The food - excellent! I've had their beef stew, seriously wow! Just like the way mom cooked it back when I was a kid, but even better! Their Turkey Salad, excellent!
The crowds - during lunch time during the week, working class people like myself! At night, say Thursday and Friday nights - hopping! Great atmosphere, the crowds are fun, service is great. Their new patio out the south end of the restaurant, whole new experience. Nicely decorated, clean, highly recommend at least one time going out there and enjoying it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    55
    20
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sartell, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Winter Carnival”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We started our Winter Carnival tour with lunch at McGoverns. It was excellent. Free off-street parking. Excellent service and food. Fair prices. The turkey dinner was wonderful as was the Irish stew. It was our first visit, but not our last.

Helpful?
Thank Rosheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities, MN
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good atmosphere, very good service - expensive food”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have been coming to the upstairs room of Patrick McGovern's Pub for the past few years as a Pittsburgh Steelers Fan. They have been generous enough to be our "offical" host bar for the Steelers Fan Club of Minnesota - and they have a great environment to do it - we get the upstairs of their bar pretty much all to ourselves and it is a great location to gather with 75-400 of my closest friends to watch our team play every week! My only complaint would be that the food prices are a bit too high for my budget. I would like to see them down a couple of dollars each item, and I would be our group would order a lot more food. Serving sizes are great - often too large - but prices could be a bit more reasonable for our little group if you would consider that please. Will continue to come back every game and enjoy the drinks and friendships formed rooting for the black and gold!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelguychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very good meal, cool patio!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Being with my friends we want to choose one place to eat and have great time. Walking around few streets in Saint Paul we decided to stop and go in Patrick McGovern's Pub. Excellent choice, because we enjoyed the food and everything. We did not know when the time passed, so we had great time and took few pictures outside in patio. Love it!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SafirAlbastru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Patio”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We go here often. Great patio with a roof that can be closed when it rains, or if it is too cool. Great sandwiches and burgers. Great breakfast on weekends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Feedme2nds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patrick McGovern's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Patrick McGovern's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing