We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria I Nonni

Osteria I Nonni
Ranked #136 of 885 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 35e
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We frequent i Nonni fairly often because it's close and they have a great happy hour. The service is great (especially Jay!). The wine list is decent, but they are pretty stingy with their pour of wine by the glass. Their calamari is the best in the cities (for fried calamari) and the burrata is delicious. The pasta is good, but they sometime change the up the recipes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marywhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I had a superb experience at I Nonni. Our waiter, Jay, was very knowledgeable about the food and wine. We tried a variety of items including the calamari, the arugula and honey crisp apple salad, the wild boar ragu, the lasagnette, the grilled lamb chops, and carrot cake with mascarpone. Everything we ate was excellent and we would recommend each of the items. My husband's favorite dish was the lamb chops and my favorites were the salad and the carrot cake. The carrot cake was worth every calorie!

The restaurant was loud when we first arrived but did quiet down as the evening progressed. If noise is an issue, I would recommend eating in the more secluded section of the dining room near the windows.

We made reservations in December when our family is home for the holidays and hope that Jay will be our server.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Creative menu, wonderful food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Our friends who live in Minneapolis chose this restuarant during our visit. The decor is beautiful, the restuarant quiet si we could catch up with each others' lives, the service attentive, and the food superb. Three of us had the tasting menu which was smaller portions from three areas of the menu plus from the specials. I loved the octopus and beets. My husband said lamb chops were wonderful. The pastas interesting and flavorful. This is not an everyday Italian restuarant and the prices reflect that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
165 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a excellent dinner the
atmosphere was excellent
very good service
the food was very tasty and well prepared
overall a very good dining experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1210tgho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis Mn
Level Contributor
341 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Modern Italian cuisine in a elegant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was our third visit to I Nonni for the four of us, and it gets better every time! The tasting menu is a bargain, at $45 for three courses (Antipasti, Primi, Secondi), but they are not little tasting portions, they are the regular menu items. As before, we couldn't begin to finish our courses. (Thank Heavens for to-go boxes.)

The food is basically Italian, but it is not the red sauce, cheese, and pasta type that is typically thought of as Italian. Two of us had the Romanesca salad which was simple greens and shaved pecorino cheese, but with the essence of anchovy in the oil. Well, not just the essence, really strong anchovy, which we loved. Another delicious salad was watermelon, strawberries, candied beets and greens.

Our Primi dishes included a huge but airily light Lasagnetta with pork ragu, and a hen-of-the-woods mushrooms, gorgonzola, and linguine dish. The clams and linguine Primi was almost enough for a meal. For Secondi, the grilled lamb chops were perfect, as was the pan fried halibut on a bed of fresh sweet corn kernels with grapefruit. The lightness of each dish was as impressive as the blending of unusual flavors. Every dish came out of the kitchen piping hot.

Service is impeccable as always, friendly but not hovering. Our water was topped up frequently.

Here's a deal. Wine prices are really high, starting at $35 a bottle, but they serve house wines in a half-liter carafe for $15, a real bargain. Unless you are out to impress a client with an expensive wine choice, you can't go wrong with the house wine.

Free parking is ample. The date of our visit was August 28, 2013.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Osteria I Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing