We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I'll have to say the staff at the front desk were courteous and extremely nice. I stayed there while visiting a family member at United Hospital (only 3 blocks away - walking distance). I checked in extremely late (ok - like early morning the next day) and they were very helpful at that time of the night/day.

The double beds are small - definitely not queen, but comfortable. Bathroom was spacious! Microwave and refrigerator worked well.

Parking is $14 or $15 per day. Nicely located ramp "behind" the hotel. Felt safe going to and from the ramp to hotel.

There is a hotel shuttle for nearby locations. Only runs until 11pm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the streets will encounter some traffic noise. The Excel Center is kiddy corner from ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReallyLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi ReallyLoves2Travel,

Thanks for writing a review of our property! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our staff's efforts to provide excellent customer service! We are glad that you took advantage of our complimentary shuttle service and found yourself comfortable in your guestroom as well. We hope to see you again if you visit the area, and, until then, we wish you happy travels! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    128
    71
    27
    8
See reviews for
60
76
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed from saturday to sunday. The rooms are small but clean. Property is well maintained. Staff is very friendly. Only down side was paying for parking but you get a good rate for a hotel. If you have something going on at or near the Excel center this is the place to stay. It's a little pricey but you will have that anywere downtown. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors if street noise is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Hi Scott G,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're delighted to hear that you found our staff "very friendly" and appreciated our clean and "well-maintained" property! We're happy that you enjoyed our great location just across the street from the Excel Center as well! While there is indeed a parking charge of $14 per car per night, we hope that you appreciated the ramp's location next to the hotel, in-and-out privileges, and free extended parking until 2pm on the day of checkout. We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville Ga
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Was in town for a leadership conference . The room was clean . The staff was helpful. I would stay with them again . Great value and convenient to the conference center, within 1 block. The breakfast was simple and had choices to go quickly. Loved the ability to prearrange a free cont breakfast to my door each morning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi Stacy H,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you had so much positive to say about your stay--clean room, helpful staff, convenient location, "great value," and accommodating breakfast. We hope to see you again the next time that you visit Saint Paul, and, until then, we wish you happy travels! Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I am currently at this hotel and am almost in tears. After being up all night with a sick baby last night and sitting through a work conference today I was really looking forward to getting a restful night. There has been a homeless man playing the drums outside my window with sticks and 5 gallon buckets since 4pm. It is now 10pm and he is still going strong. I called the front desk to see if I could get a different room and was informed the only other rooms available would be on the same side of the hotel facing the street. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lskaggs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi Lskaggs88,

Thanks for reviewing our property. We're sorry to hear that your previous long night and long day were forcibly continued by noise from street and sidewalk during your stay. On event nights like when the Wild play, there is often a lot of activity in the area; sometimes this brings street entertainers. When you called the desk around 10pm to switch rooms, all but a few guests had checked into the hotel, and, because we were sold out, we were very limited in our options for rooms to which we could have moved you. We are truly sorry that we weren't able to aid you in switching rooms to one not overlooking the street. We hope that you do give us a chance by staying again, and we strongly encourage you to request a quiet room not overlooking the street either when booking the reservation or when you check in if this is your preference. The earlier the request is in the better. Thank you again for your review of our hotel, and we certainly wish you the most restful of nights to sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Chisholm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is the best location for the concert we attended, right across the street from Xcel Energy Center. The room was beautiful and very clean. We enjoyed the attached pub, even with all the concert goers coming back after the concert the service at the pub was great! Once we parked the car we could just walk around the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JN906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi Jane N,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy the attached Irish pub, The Liffey, and were able to relax in your "beautiful and very clean" guestroom! We hope you had a great time at the concert across the street as well! We'll look forward to seeing you next time. Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights, a Sunday and Monday. Our room was on the 4th floor. The hotel is situated in a very busy area and the room was extremely loud. Even with a white noise machine on high, the traffic noise was unbearable. It sounded like motorcycles were drag racing up and down the street all night. We left a day early just to go someplace that we could get some rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasHula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hi TexasHula,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're sorry to hear that street noise was troublesome for you during your stay, but we hope that you took the opportunity to inform our staff--whether in a note while making the reservation or after checking in and finding that there was street noise--that you wished to have a quiet(er) room. Our staff is always more than willing to take action to accommodate guest requests and we certainly would have been happy to help you move to another room that was not facing that street if this was preferable. In short, if you've a want, tell us, and we'll do our best to help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseau, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here after a concert and it was so convenient. The staff was prepared for the concert-goers and were very accomodating. Nice clean rooms and loved the beer selection at the attached pub. Very good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hi Michelle S,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the area to attend a concert. We certainly do our best to be prepared for busy concert nights and are glad to hear that you appreciated our accommodating staff, enjoyed your clean room, and loved The Liffey's beer selection. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you the next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing