We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for events/games in St. Paul.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location for events/games in St. Paul.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a Wild game in January 2014. Let me tell you that it was -20 degrees outside and we were so happy to be across the street from the arena, it was only a couple minute walk. We ate and drank at the restaurant that was connected to the hotel, also very convenient. The hotel was clean and had decent size rooms, but the staff was friendly and you can't beat the location. We will definitely stay here again when coming back to another game. There are many great restaurants and bars in the area for enjoying your stay.

Only negative - There are only emergency exit stairs that the public is not allowed to use. We were staying on the second floor and had to wait 20 minutes to get on the elevator after the game. If there were stairs we could use, we would have walked up one flight and saved 20 minutes. My recommendation for the hotel is find a way to turn the emergency staircase into a more functional area that the public can use. Its not a big enough pain to prevent us from coming back, just seems a little weird to not have stairs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Jordan S,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that there was so much to rave about your stay! Our goal is to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests, and we're delighted to hear you appreciated our clean guestrooms, friendly staff, delicious in-house restaurant, and unbeatable location across from the Xcel Energy Center! We aim to please! We are sorry it took a little while to get up to your room during the postgame rush though, and we thank you for the suggestion on how to move things along. We'll consider it and see what we can do to get you up to your room more quickly in the future. Overall though, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area! Until then, happy travels! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    133
    76
    27
    8
See reviews for
62
82
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belize
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have been doing contract work with the Science Museum of Minnesota for over the course of a year and made five trips to the twin cities, three of which I stayed at this hotel. It's at a perfect location to go anywhere and the staff is outstanding; I do want to especially mention Evan, Rachel & Tim from the from desk. Evan of course, goes beyond the call of duty to ensure I was comfortable and for that alone, all the other issues, I had during this last stay, were inconsequential. I stayed here from Jan 6 - 17 and for the most part the stay was good.

I do want to mention that this last stay, I had some minor issues with housekeeping, the room not being thoroughly cleaned, (e.g. a piece of tissue remained on the floor for three days before it was picked up by housekeeping), some days i did not receive clean towels or there were no amenities were left (I had to write a note to request soap) and for a couple days the bed was incompletely made up, definitely not the standards I was use to receiving during my previous stays. Overall, while the rooms are a bit small, its comfy with EXCELLENT beds and much improved pillows (unlike other tiny wimpy square pillows). I did not use the pool as it was freaking cold and was very much thankful for the courtesy shuttle. I'm not sure when I will be back in St Paul, but when I do, I will def stay at this hotel.

* The only thing that can be added, is a guest laundry for people who have extended stays

Room Tip: Request to stay on the higher floors, especially if there is an event at the Excel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ixchel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Hi lxchel27,

Thanks for your review! We're delighted to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed getting to know numerous members of our front desk staff. For our part, we were thrilled to have you back for another stay and are happy that your work at the Science Museum went well! We are sorry to hear that there were a couple lapses in refreshing your room some days, but we're pleased to hear that we were able to remedy these when you let the desk know of them. We're here to help! We're further happy to hear that the shuttle service was useful to you and that you appreciated your comfortable pillows and bed! We're sorry to see you go, but hopefully we'll get to see you again on vacation during a warmer time of the year! Until then, all the best and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is great. Across the street from the hockey arena, tons of great bars and restaurants, and walking distance to the Minnesota History Museum and other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi Stephanie,

Thanks for your review! We hope that you had a great time visiting Saint Paul! It sounds like you made the most of your time and saw a lot of the area! For our part, we're happy to have been able to provide you with a central location, clean room, and friendly staff to help make your visit a great one! We hope you'll come see us again, and we wish you happy travels until then! Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The best thing this hotel has going for it is being across the street from the xcel. Apart from that I was not impressed. $15 to pay for parking is a ripoff, it should be included with the already overpriced cost of staying one night. The bathrooms was tiny and the TV was like 13 inches.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi Brian B,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you appreciated our excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center and hope you had a great time at the event there! We certainly hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and and hope that you found your room comfortable even if the bathroom was considered to be small. As a point of clarification, we'd like to note that the TV was no less than 32 inches also. We hope that this sufficed, and we'll hope to bring you an excellent customer service experience in the future. Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahpeton, North Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We've been staying at the hotel the last 4 years during the Big Ice Fishing Show the 1st full weekend of December. It's in a great location just a block from the front doors of the River Center and located across the street from the Excel Center. Good value for the location. Parking ramp is handy because of parking issues down town.

Room Tip: One side looks at the Cathedral and other side looks over the Excel Center. 5th floor and up help fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hi gl1960,

Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear we're a place worth coming back to! We hope that you had a great time at the ice fishing show and were able to make the short walk between here and the Rivercentre without getting too cold on this frigid December. We'll look forward to seeing you again next year! Until then, reel'em in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We found the service attentive, courteous, and professional. My wife had to stay for more than a week, and thanked me on numerous times for selecting Holiday Inn River Center. The amenities were basic, it's Holiday Inn. However, the service was superior. The front desk, maids, and auxilary staff were fantastic. I had initally booked at a more upscale hotel, but I am glad we chose this Holiday Inn! We have another trip scheduled for the late Spring, and we are booking this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Hi Lee B,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're overjoyed to hear that you had a great experience during your recent stay with us! Thank you for your kind compliments! Our staff enjoyed getting to know you and your wife over the course of your stay, and we'll look forward to seeing you again in the spring. Until then, appreciate the warmth in New Orleans as we hunker down for another Minnesota winter. Thanks again for your review, and all the best to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we went to see Elton John. Check in was quick and efficient. Staff was well trained and friendly. The rooms was a King room which seemed a little small but had a fridge microwave, desk and chair. Bed and pillows were great. The carpet was pretty worn, but the room was clean. I appreciated the fact the hotel had hired extra security for that night to make sure their guests weren't bothered by excessive partying or noise. Price is high, but they can get it because of the location right across the street to the Excel Center. It saves alot of hassle. Parking is an additional 15.00. The pub had good food and was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi ruth4090,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a spectacular time at the concert! Thank you for your kind comments regarding our efficient staff, clean rooms, measures taken to enforce our noise policy, comfortable beds, other room amenities! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the attached pub, The Liffey, as well! We'll hope to see you again in the future! Until then, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.3 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown. You are in the heart of it all! If you are attending a hockey game, concert, or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and the RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Infor, Ecolab, and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport and the Mall of America are only minutes away. If you are planning a family vacation, you are steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum, Palace Theater, and the Ordway Center. We are also the closest hotel to Children's and United Hospitals. While you're here be sure to visit St. Paul's only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey, located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing