We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 340(Saint Paul)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midway Motel(Saint Paul)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
76
139
79
27
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
139
79
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish pubxcel energy centergreat locationwild gamescience museumattending an eventriver centerparking ramphigher floorhockey gameearly checkhot tubfitness centertwin citiesliffeyexcelconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We always choose to stay at this hotel when we come to the city for concerts and hockey games at the XCel Center. It is diagonally located across the street. The hotel is beginning to show its age and is in need of some renovation. The beds and pillows are getting uncomfortable and the quality of the linens is poor. It is too bad that the beds are only doubles. Having said that, the hotel is clean, excellent value, in a great, convenient location with a very helpful staff. In spite of the fact that the hotel is a favorite of sports fans and concert goers, it is very quiet and security is present and very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi arenamama,

Thanks for reviewing our property, and thank you for listing the many great features of our hotel: excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center, clean guestrooms, quiet and secure premises, and a very helpful staff! We think that our hotel has all of this and more to offer. We do appreciate the comments you made regarding a few improvements too. The next time you stay, we suggest making use of the pillow menu provided in all of our rooms. If the pillows in the rooms aren't to your preference, there are numerous other types that can be delivered, and we'll be happy to do so. Otherwise, we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area for an event at the Xcel, and, until then, we wish you happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and each time we are impressed. It really is at the center of the action - you can walk everywhere and there are many different restaurants to choose from. Xcel Center is right across the street. Staff was very friendly, room was nice and clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muchtoodutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hi Muchtoodutch,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We always love to hear a glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that we impress each time you visit and are more than happy to hear that you appreciate our clean rooms and friendly staff! We're glad to hear you enjoy being able to walk to all sorts of different fun places as well! Thanks so much again for the review, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time! Until then, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a Wild game in January 2014. Let me tell you that it was -20 degrees outside and we were so happy to be across the street from the arena, it was only a couple minute walk. We ate and drank at the restaurant that was connected to the hotel, also very convenient. The hotel was clean and had decent size rooms, but the staff was friendly and you can't beat the location. We will definitely stay here again when coming back to another game. There are many great restaurants and bars in the area for enjoying your stay.

Only negative - There are only emergency exit stairs that the public is not allowed to use. We were staying on the second floor and had to wait 20 minutes to get on the elevator after the game. If there were stairs we could use, we would have walked up one flight and saved 20 minutes. My recommendation for the hotel is find a way to turn the emergency staircase into a more functional area that the public can use. Its not a big enough pain to prevent us from coming back, just seems a little weird to not have stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Jordan S,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that there was so much to rave about your stay! Our goal is to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests, and we're delighted to hear you appreciated our clean guestrooms, friendly staff, delicious in-house restaurant, and unbeatable location across from the Xcel Energy Center! We aim to please! We are sorry it took a little while to get up to your room during the postgame rush though, and we thank you for the suggestion on how to move things along. We'll consider it and see what we can do to get you up to your room more quickly in the future. Overall though, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area! Until then, happy travels! Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have been doing contract work with the Science Museum of Minnesota for over the course of a year and made five trips to the twin cities, three of which I stayed at this hotel. It's at a perfect location to go anywhere and the staff is outstanding; I do want to especially mention Evan, Rachel & Tim from the from desk. Evan of course, goes beyond the call of duty to ensure I was comfortable and for that alone, all the other issues, I had during this last stay, were inconsequential. I stayed here from Jan 6 - 17 and for the most part the stay was good.

I do want to mention that this last stay, I had some minor issues with housekeeping, the room not being thoroughly cleaned, (e.g. a piece of tissue remained on the floor for three days before it was picked up by housekeeping), some days i did not receive clean towels or there were no amenities were left (I had to write a note to request soap) and for a couple days the bed was incompletely made up, definitely not the standards I was use to receiving during my previous stays. Overall, while the rooms are a bit small, its comfy with EXCELLENT beds and much improved pillows (unlike other tiny wimpy square pillows). I did not use the pool as it was freaking cold and was very much thankful for the courtesy shuttle. I'm not sure when I will be back in St Paul, but when I do, I will def stay at this hotel.

* The only thing that can be added, is a guest laundry for people who have extended stays

Room Tip: Request to stay on the higher floors, especially if there is an event at the Excel
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ixchel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Hi lxchel27,

Thanks for your review! We're delighted to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed getting to know numerous members of our front desk staff. For our part, we were thrilled to have you back for another stay and are happy that your work at the Science Museum went well! We are sorry to hear that there were a couple lapses in refreshing your room some days, but we're pleased to hear that we were able to remedy these when you let the desk know of them. We're here to help! We're further happy to hear that the shuttle service was useful to you and that you appreciated your comfortable pillows and bed! We're sorry to see you go, but hopefully we'll get to see you again on vacation during a warmer time of the year! Until then, all the best and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is great. Across the street from the hockey arena, tons of great bars and restaurants, and walking distance to the Minnesota History Museum and other attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbuchanan8, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Hi Stephanie,

Thanks for your review! We hope that you had a great time visiting Saint Paul! It sounds like you made the most of your time and saw a lot of the area! For our part, we're happy to have been able to provide you with a central location, clean room, and friendly staff to help make your visit a great one! We hope you'll come see us again, and we wish you happy travels until then! Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews