We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The State of Hockey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My brother and I went up to see the Wild vs. Red Wings game on March 22nd and as it turned out, the UW Badgers hockey team made the Big 10 Championship, so we had to stay and watch that game also and we needed a place to stay. The location is perfect for hockey games at the Xcel and the room and hotel was immaculate, albeit a bit pricey for St. Paul in my opinion. But I guess you're paying for convenience. The front desk folks were very friendly and very accommodating as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_17Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi T_17WI,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that you had a terrific stay with us, loved our "perfect" location, and found your room and the hotel generally to be "Immaculate!" We strive to provide an excellent guest experience, and we're delighted to hear you had a great time! We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future, and, in the meantime, go Badgers...unless they're playing the Gophers (: Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

My kids and I went to a concert at the Xcel and stayed at the Holiday Inn when it was over. You cannot get any closer than this for an event at the Xcel. It was extremely convenient. The restaurant in the lobby does room service very late into the evening which was convenient since we did not have time for dinner before the concert and I'm way too cheap to buy food at the Xcel. We did not spend a lot of time in the room but it had everything we needed. The pool was nice and quiet in the morning when we went down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hi Sarah P,

Thanks for writing a review of our location! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us, appreciated our unique location across from the Xcel Energy Center, enjoyed the convenience of the room service offered by our attached restaurant, The Liffey, and had a nice time in the pool the morning after the concert! We really appreciate the review, and we'll look forward to seeing you again in the future. Until then, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Check in was good, Evan was very friendly. Rooms not very inviting or comfortable, TV kept going out, took a long time for hot water in the shower, coffee in room terrible, I forgot my lotion and went to grab the lotion that comes with the room and it was already used, half gone and the morning front desk lady had the attitude of don't bother me! More than likely not stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Kim T,

Thanks for reviewing our property. We are very happy to hear that check in was good and that Evan was friendly, but, on the whole, we are sorry to hear that there were a few issues during your stay. If you didn't, we always invite our guests to let us know of any issues they encounter as soon as possible so that we can try to correct them. Our maintenance staff is always happy to come and look at a TV if it is having any issues as well as addressing any hot water concerns. Also, if the coffee in the rooms is not to your preference, we do offer a different brew of complimentary coffee in the lobby, the attached restaurant has its own as well, and there is a coffee shop just two blocks down the street if that is preferred. We do apologize if a staff member wasn't helpful in the morning also. We pride ourselves on providing great service to our guests, and we didn't do so at that time. We'll be sure to go over what happened with the person working that morning. In closing, we are happy to hear of the positive points of your stay but sorry that there were some clear areas of improvement that we will address going forward. Thank you for your review, and we hope you'll stay with us again so that we can show you the great guest experience we expect to and strive to provide. Until we then, we wish you happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Recently stayed here for business and a Wild game. The location is excellent with the Xcel Energy Center across the street and in plenty of food and night spots nearby. The onsite Irish Bar, The Liffy is an awesome establishment with many food and beverage choices. The only downside was the heating unit in our room seemed to be either hot or cold, I just could not seem to find the "just right" temperature.
Check in was a breeze and Kjerstin was awesome at the front desk. Will definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi Mikreyn,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay with us and were able to take in a Wild game during your stay! We are huge fans of The Liffey too--great food and great ambiance, a true spirited Irish pub! As you say though, if you're looking for something different, there are plenty of other options just right outside the front door! By the way, do let us know if you need assistance with anything during your stay--heating unit or otherwise. We're always happy to help! All in all, we're happy to hear that you had a great stay, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We always choose to stay at this hotel when we come to the city for concerts and hockey games at the XCel Center. It is diagonally located across the street. The hotel is beginning to show its age and is in need of some renovation. The beds and pillows are getting uncomfortable and the quality of the linens is poor. It is too bad that the beds are only doubles. Having said that, the hotel is clean, excellent value, in a great, convenient location with a very helpful staff. In spite of the fact that the hotel is a favorite of sports fans and concert goers, it is very quiet and security is present and very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hi arenamama,

Thanks for reviewing our property, and thank you for listing the many great features of our hotel: excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center, clean guestrooms, quiet and secure premises, and a very helpful staff! We think that our hotel has all of this and more to offer. We do appreciate the comments you made regarding a few improvements too. The next time you stay, we suggest making use of the pillow menu provided in all of our rooms. If the pillows in the rooms aren't to your preference, there are numerous other types that can be delivered, and we'll be happy to do so. Otherwise, we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area for an event at the Xcel, and, until then, we wish you happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and each time we are impressed. It really is at the center of the action - you can walk everywhere and there are many different restaurants to choose from. Xcel Center is right across the street. Staff was very friendly, room was nice and clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muchtoodutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hi Muchtoodutch,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We always love to hear a glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that we impress each time you visit and are more than happy to hear that you appreciate our clean rooms and friendly staff! We're glad to hear you enjoy being able to walk to all sorts of different fun places as well! Thanks so much again for the review, and we'll look forward to seeing you next time! Until then, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a Wild game in January 2014. Let me tell you that it was -20 degrees outside and we were so happy to be across the street from the arena, it was only a couple minute walk. We ate and drank at the restaurant that was connected to the hotel, also very convenient. The hotel was clean and had decent size rooms, but the staff was friendly and you can't beat the location. We will definitely stay here again when coming back to another game. There are many great restaurants and bars in the area for enjoying your stay.

Only negative - There are only emergency exit stairs that the public is not allowed to use. We were staying on the second floor and had to wait 20 minutes to get on the elevator after the game. If there were stairs we could use, we would have walked up one flight and saved 20 minutes. My recommendation for the hotel is find a way to turn the emergency staircase into a more functional area that the public can use. Its not a big enough pain to prevent us from coming back, just seems a little weird to not have stairs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Jordan S,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're thrilled to hear that there was so much to rave about your stay! Our goal is to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests, and we're delighted to hear you appreciated our clean guestrooms, friendly staff, delicious in-house restaurant, and unbeatable location across from the Xcel Energy Center! We aim to please! We are sorry it took a little while to get up to your room during the postgame rush though, and we thank you for the suggestion on how to move things along. We'll consider it and see what we can do to get you up to your room more quickly in the future. Overall though, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area! Until then, happy travels! Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 7th St W, Saint Paul, MN 55102-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: £107 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown. You are in the heart of it all! If you are attending a hockey game, concert, or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and the RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Infor, Ecolab, and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport and the Mall of America are only minutes away. If you are planning a family vacation, you are steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum, Palace Theater, and the Ordway Center. We are also the closest hotel to Children's and United Hospitals. While you're here be sure to visit St. Paul's only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey, located in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing