We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 340(Saint Paul)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge(Saint Paul)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
77
140
79
28
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
140
79
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish pubxcel energy centergreat locationwild gamescience museumattending an eventriver centerparking ramphigher floorhockey gameearly checkhot tubfitness centertwin citiesliffeyexcelconcert
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Price was high for a Saturday night stay. Small but clean room. No frills. Enjoyed the location, lots of bars/restaurants within walking distance or a cheap cab ride away. Easy but expensive parking on site. Would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gotskilz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi gotskilz77,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location near area attractions and within blocks of lots of different bars/restaurants! We are also glad to hear that parking was an ease, and that your room was clean! Prices at the hotel do vary by night, so please do call us to check rates when you want to stay. We'll look forward to seeing you then! Until then, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here over the weekend while visiting my son. Beware, the hotel is in a convenient location, but is under renovations. My room had not been updated yet and it showed (dingy carpet, running toilet, bad lighting). While I understand that the remodeling is definitely needed, they began working on the room right above me at 8:15 Sunday morning! A little later start time would have been appreciated.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Appletonkents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi Appletonkents,

While we are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location, we are sorry that our renovations caused some inconvenience. However, these renovations are now nearly complete (due to conclude at the end of the month) and will result in all new carpets and beds in all of our guestrooms. Our maintenance staff also continues to systematically inspect rooms and conduct preventative maintenance to help ensure guests continue to have comfortable stays with us. We hope that you will visit us again to enjoy the benefits that have come with these renovations, and we wish you happy travels until then. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband, son and I were in St. Paul for a weekend wedding and spent two nights at this hotel.
The room was clean, but decorated in depressing brown and beige tones. There was no vent in the bathroom, so, when showering, you had to leave the door open or try to dry off in a totally steamy bathroom with the door shut. The towels, while hopefully clean, were a dingy white. I, unfortunately, left some clothing in a drawer and called the hotel, but, after promising to contact housekeeping, they have never called me back. Extremely slow elevators and parking is extra! On the upside, the hotel does have a nice location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealtorAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi RealtorAtSea,

Thanks for writing a review of our property. We're very happy to hear that you loved our location and appreciated your clean guestroom, but we are sorry that you found the room decor to be a little drab. On the bright side, we are currently improving our guestrooms with all new beds and carpets, so we are sure you will find the rooms looking good if you visit again! We are also very sorry to hear about your lost and found item and implore you to call us again regarding it. Please call our manager on duty at 651-225-1515 at your earlier convenience, and we will get back to you as soon as we possibly can! Thanks again for the review, and we wish you the happiest of travels in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a nice hotel that is right across the street from the Xcel Energy Arena. There are a decent amount of restaurant with in walking distance and the hotel has a nice parking garage. The rooms are clean and a good size, typical of this class of hotel. Breakfast is not included but there is an attached restaurant with a decent menu. Check in was easy and staff were friendly. If, like us, you are going to the arena this a very good hotel. Our room was very quiet also. My only complaint would be the fact that you HAVE to use the elevator to go up or down from or to the first floor. Sooooo when 3/4 of the hotel guests come back from a concert the lobby becomes a bit of a cluster-feck as you can't use the stairs. Now that's some ingenious engineering.

Room Tip: drive into the parking garage entrance to unload and getting your parking pass
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzerd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Buzzerd03,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you appreciated our great location across from the Xcel Energy Center and near numerous restaurants within just two blocks of our hotel! We're glad that you enjoyed your clean and quiet guestroom as well as our friendly staff and convenient parking too! It's true that stairs are not generally accessible as they are fire exits that lead to the outside of the building. However, our staff is certainly happy to open them if need be. Feel free to ask if we haven't opened them yet! Overall though, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll hope to see you again in the future! Until then, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for a recent show- this place gets a five for location (excel right across the street, many restaurants within walking distance, Science Museum a few blocks away as is the river) but a three for actual accommodations. Not bad, not great- I guess you could say it serves it purpose.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisctravfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi wisctravfamily,

Thanks for reviewing our property! We're happy to hear that you loved our excellent location across the street from the Xcel Energy Center and near numerous other attractions and great restaurants! We are also glad to hear that our accommodations were to your and your family's satisfaction, We always want our guests to consider their stay with us a 10, so please always feel free to let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay better! If not before, we'll look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area for a concert! In the meantime, happy travels, and thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews