We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange service and inadequate air conditioning” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Strange service and inadequate air conditioning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

After driving 7 hours from Illinois, we arrived one hour after check-in time only to be told our room was not ready. There were no apologies, no offers for something to drink. Just sorry, we are sold out and really busy. Our room was fine, the bathroom was very small. We left shortly after check-in to go to the Mall of America. The kids were tired when we got back and wanted to take showers and get ready for bed. We noticed that there were only two towels. I called down to the front desk and was told that she would look for some and send them up. When I asked how long that would take, she let out a big sigh and said they are all wet and would call to let me know. She never called. Finally, we tried to turn the air conditioning up only to find that no cold air was coming out. Our room was so hot and humid that the carpet was damp. Gross. They sent up a maintenance guy that told us that the unit needed to be replaced. After reading other reviews, it sounds like this is a problem for the entire hotel.

The only saving grace was the night manager Jessa. She came to our room with some pool towels and apologized for all the issues we had. She offered us Hilton points equivalent to a nights stay and was very nice. Unfortunately, I don't think we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has updated AC or you will be hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackTyChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the review given to our hotel on July 17th. I am very sorry that you encountered the issues that you did and we are working very hard to correct both the physical issues (AC) as well as the service issues. We have shared your review with our staff in an effort to learn from what we did wrong. I am however happy to hear that the MOD resolved the situation to your staisfaction. We will alwys try to Make it Right when we have issues with any part of our guests stay

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    198
    134
    98
    59
See reviews for
275
119
12
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our second stay at an embassy suites as a family. It was a good experience (for two nites), but we received only one towel for the four of us when we went into the room, this is not acceptable. Beds weren't made until 4pm and yes, one of the elevators was down (minor inconvenience). Breakfast was good, never did make it to the reception... but would have liked to. The pool and hot tub area was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the review given to our hotel on July 15th We appreciate your sharing with us what you enjoyed about the hotel, we are certainly blessed with a great location and we are very glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast. I would however like to apologize for the towle situation, we have reviewed this as well as other opportunities with our housekeeping staff and believe we have identified the issue and corrected it. We are also very happy to say that when the modernization to all of our elevators is complete later this year all 4 elevators will be working much better and more efficiently to service our guests.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were highly impressed with the great (and complimentary) made-to-order breakfast each morning and the manager's reception with drinks and snacks each evening. The pool was lovely, the rooms spacious and the overall hotel beautiful. I had hoped to be close to the Minneapolis Children's Museum, and we were only a few blocks away!

We also were only one block away from great food and beverage(Black Sheep Pizza, a lovely Thai place & microbrewery Tin Whiskers) and even an awesome fancy grocery store. We were also only two blocks from the metro so we were able to get to downtown Minneapolis and The Mall of America without a car.

Highly recommend for families!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the outstanding review given to our hotel on July 13th. We are certainly blessed with a great location and a staff focused on exceptional guest service. We appreciate you sharing what made your stay enjoyable with us, we share all of our guest reviews with our staff in order to continue improving the overall experience of the hotel.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Expensive for the service and the facilities. Old bones, that are in need of fresh paint and elevators that move faster than geriatric turtles with bilateral hip fractures. (2-3 minute wait was typical). Beds comfortable, but linen not clean first night we stayed there. Lousy drains in shower/bathtubs (slow..so you do get the extra benefit of a "foot" soak during your shower).
2.5 out of 5...not bad enough to call poor, but not good enough to call average. I

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank paulmphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for the review given to our hotel on July 6th. We are sorry that this stay did not meet all of the expectations that you had for the property. We certainly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and we will be sharing your review with all of our associates in an effort to improve the quality of our hotel as well as the overall guest experience.

Thank you

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel in March. It was very close to the hockey arena. We also enjoyed the hotels restaurant after the game. Very spacious and newly renovated rooms. Only con, another guest must have been smoking in their bathroom because we woke up to our bathroom smelling line cigarette smoke. Front desk staff apologized and assured me the that the hotel maintenance would take care
of the issue.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahb1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the exceptional review given to our hotel on July 6th We certainly appreciate you sharing what made your stay so enjoyable and we are glad that the hotel staff was responsive to your concerns and the situation with your neighbor was resolved.

We look forward to you returning soon

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

One elevator didn't work, and service on the others could not keep up with use. Sanitary conditions in breakfast were bad (serving utensils fell on floor and were put back in service by workers). Bathroom was not cleaned behind door: filthy! Neither TV remote worked. Room wasn't serviced until 5 p.m., neither toilet paper or Kleenex provided (we had to go to the front desk to get them).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the review given to our hotel on July 2nd, we are very sorry that your stay didnot meet the expectation you had. We have shared all of your commetns with our team membvers and have ensured that training processes were in place to ensure this issues that you saw did not contnue.

Thank you again for making us aware of this as it is the only way we can continue to improve our overall Quality and guest experience

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatsworth, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Basicly the hotel was comfortable and the staff very pleasant. My issue was totally with the housekeeping of the room. The first night was fine, when we returned the next evening the room hadn't been cleaned, beds weren't made, towels not changed out, etc. The next day beds were made, towels changed but the mirror had water spots still on it from washing up and empty shampoo bottles were still in the tub where I had put them so they could be replaced. this was room 1 (I had 3). Room 2 upon arrival had every drawer open, sofa pillows on the floor and bed not made up. Room 3 was OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for the review given to our hotel on June 27th. We share all of our guest reviews with our associates in a contnued effort to improve the quality of the hotel as well as the overall guest experience. we will go over this with housekeeping and review our processes to ensure the room is cleaned completely and correctly each and every time

Thank you fro the feedback, we certainly appreciate you taking this time to infrom us about your stay.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
4.3 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Address: 175 10th St E, Saint Paul, MN 55101-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown hotel conveniently located in the heart of the Twin Cities is just blocks from the Xcel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota and Minnesota Children's Museum. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale hotel is just minutes from many Saint Paul, MN attractions making our downtown St. Paul hotel the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites St. Paul Downtown hotel stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Our on-site restaurant, Cork's Pub, provides a casual venue for enjoying dinner, catching a game on TV or simply having a drink to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Saint Paul Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing