We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bones but slack management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have always liked the design of the Embassy Suites that were built in the 1980s. They have the wide open atrium over the interior that create a nice space especially for areas of the county that have extreme weather during certain times of the year. The rooms come with two completely separate spaces and lots of extras. This one even had a small balcony for each room.
.
Unfortunately the management here has just not kept the space up to par. During my stay for example: (1) I noticed the carpet in the common areas was very stained and dirty (2) the linens appeared to be very old and worn out (3) when I arrived my toilet was slightly stopped up then became inoperable in the morning (4) when I placed a call maintenance never came to unstop it.
.
Perhaps my trip was the perfect storm and you might have better luck, just be forewarned.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the review given to our hotel on August 17th. We certainly appreciate you telling us what you enjoyed about your stay as well as taking the time to inform us of areas that need improvement. we are currently working to correct these issues and will do our best moving forward to make sure that this does not get aways from us. We have recently made a change to leadership in the hotel that we believe will continue to move our hotel forward.

Thank you again

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My arrival time was 5:00 - 5:30 and the room was not ready and was not ready until 6:00. Another party got a room before I did. Having been traveling for four hours to get to the hotel, plus having to catch a shuttle at 6:30 to attend a concert, did not leave any time to relax with complimentary beverage and snacks. I am currently waiting to see a discount on my bill for the inconvenience. The hotel itself is very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We have been in contact with this guest who had issues with the check in process and have been able to make it right for them. We will always do our absolute best to deliver an exceptional guest experience and when we fall short we will work just as hard to ensure we make it right.

We look forward to having the guest back and have the opportunity to earn there business back.

Enmbassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Well appointed rooms, excellent breakfast (as always), very family friendly. Parking was free on weekend. Children enjoyed pool and (older kids) hot tub. Stayed here for family wedding, with reception in hotel, which turned out to be very convenient. One of the four very-slow elevators was out-of-commission, leading to some long waits. However, one of the staff informed us that the stairs could be used without setting off the alarms, even though they are marked otherwise.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the review given to our hotel on August 15th. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are very happy to inform you that after the work is completed on the elevators later this year, they will all be faster and more friendly to our guests. We hope you are all as excited about that as we are.

Than you for choosing Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Awesome facility - staff were so helpful with everything!!! The Cork Restaurant was fantastic - no need to leave the facility. Happy hour was great!!! We loved it here and will be back. The rooms were very clean the suites were well designed - front desk staff helped plan out weekend - transportation, entertainment, restaurants, maps and just great smiltes gfrom them. Even the cleaning staff were so pleasant - smiling and happy folks!!! The facilty was safe - well lite parking lots. Tom and Sue

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the exceptional review given to our hotel on August 14th. We appreciate you sharing what made your stay special. We share all reviews with our associates in an effort to continue improving both the hotel facility as well as the overall guest experience.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Teh hotel was very nice, typical embassy Suites. they proivded a suttle service to the Excel Center for a concert which was a bonus that we had nto anticipated, It was so nice to have drop off and pick up service door to door.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the great review given to our hotel on August 14th. We look forward to having you return when your travles bring you into Saint Paul.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We did not receive the room that we reserved and the room maintenance was sub par however the breakfast was great. The shower head was loose on the wall and the baseboard tile was missing pieces. We were supposed to get a two bedroom suite but instead got a one bedroom which was a little tricky with two couples but we managed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much for the review given to our hotel on August 12th. We re certainly sorry that your stay did not meet all of your expectations. We have already reviewed the engineering issues with our team and make the necessary repairs to the room. All of our suites are claissified as 2 bedroom becuse of the addition of sleeper sofas in all of our suites I am very sorry if this was misleading in any way.

We certainly hope that you will return and allow us to make all of this right for you, if I can hel;p in any way please just send a message through trip advisor and we will be happy to help with any future reservation needs.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights on a business trip. Room was large, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast had lots of options as well as the cocktail hours in the afternoon. There is a river walk area about 10 blocks away which was an easy walk for exercise. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRDOSM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for the review given to our hotel on August 11th. We appreciate you sharing what made your stay special and we look forward to havign you back.

Embassy Suites Saint Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown

Address: 175 10th St E, Saint Paul, MN 55101-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: £90 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Paul - Downtown hotel conveniently located in the heart of the Twin Cities is just blocks from the Xcel Energy Center, the Science Museum of Minnesota and Minnesota Children's Museum. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale hotel is just minutes from many Saint Paul, MN attractions making our downtown St. Paul hotel the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites St. Paul Downtown hotel stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary evening reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Our on-site restaurant, Cork's Pub, provides a casual venue for enjoying dinner, catching a game on TV or simply having a drink to unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Saint Paul
Saint Paul Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing