We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Unsafe, and Disgusting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 St Paul I-94
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty, Unsafe, and Disgusting.”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend in July as we were crossing back through the states on our two month trip.

This is by far the worst Super 8 I've ever stayed at. As I walked into the room I could tell it was definitely not properly cleaned. The sink still had dirt and beard hairs all over it, the tub had hair on the walls and the floor of the tub still had dirt in it. The bed seemed like it was just quickly made too. (Not to mention the fact that all we got was a TINY double bed. I wouldn't even really consider it a double).. Who knows, the room may have not even been attempted to be cleaned.

Another thing was the fact that the area seemed quite unfavorable. There were sketchy characters roaming around and the back door remained propped open because it didn't shut properly on it's own. This is highly unsafe and anyone could walk in through the back at any given moment.

The breakfast was a typical super 8 motel breakfast with nothing special but at least they served a free breakfast.

I stayed at 3 super 8's in a row, three consecutive nights, with the same layout, and this was by far the most terrible. The other two were VERY clean in comparison and much more worth the money.

If I hadn't made the bid through priceline, and only paid 37$ with tax included I probably would have been a little bit more frustrated with the hotel. I still HIGHLY, DO NOT RECOMMEND anyone to stay here. Unless you like unsafe, and dirty hotel rooms....

Room Tip: do not get a room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisStone, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Trip Advisor review. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. I can assure you that any cleanliness issues have been addressed with our housekeeping department. We have just put into place a room inspection report where are General Manager, Assistant General Manager and Head Housekeeper are inspecting at least 5 rooms per day at random. If a room scores 80 or below they housekeeping - room attendant will be repromanded due to cleanliness issues.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the property directly.

Thanks and have a Super day!

Dennis L. Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    32
    43
    104
See reviews for
67
33
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Well, buyer beware, I guess. I'm not sure how this place received 3.5 circles, though perhaps it is a result of people not blaming the hotel for its clientele.

My son and I were just stopping overnight on our way through Minnesota, so all we needed was a room, not a bunch of amenities, nor a great location.

However, this place was 'home' to some unsavoury characters. The area outside the lobby was populated with people who were sitting, swearing, smoking, and spitting. My son and I had to walk the gauntlet through this crowd to get to the entrance and to check in. In the lobby, a toddler clad in nothing more than a diaper was running around while his mom shouted at him unseen in the breakfast room (which was open, though we arrrived at about 8-9 PM).

At check in, we were told that the room we had booked and prepaid for was not available. We had booked a room with two double beds, but all they had were rooms with one double bed, so they gave us two of those. My son is eleven and I'm not even sure if it's legal to leave him alone in a hotel room (I think the cutoff for leaving a child alone for a short time is 11 or 12); the legality of leaving him alone was a moot point. My son felt unsafe, and I wasn't crazy about the place either, so we bunked together in one of the rooms in a tiny double bed.

The doorknob fell off in the bathroom; one of the two exercise machines in the weight room didn't work, and the other didn't work properly; the air conditioning in the exercise room didn't work, nor was there any air circulation. Also, the free breakfast was decidedly lacking in options, though for the price I paid, I hadn't been expecting much.

If I had gone there alone, I doubt I'd have been quite as concerned about safety or about the guests with the colorful vocabulary that greeted us at the entrance. As it was, this was easily the worst hotel we stayed at on our two week holiday, and one of the worst I've visited in the last five years.

I strongly recommend against families staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arrogant_Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisStone, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Trip Advisor review. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. I can assure you that we have addressed your areas of concerns with guests congregating around the entry area and unsupervised children. We have conducted a front desk meeting where all your issues have been addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the property directly.

Thanks and have a Super day!

Dennis L. Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Recently stayed for a family members wedding and the head mexican - older woman housekeeper stole $700 worth of my jewelry! Spent one hour trying to get the items back! Workers were acting like they didnt speak spanish! The head housekeeper then grabbed a trash bag that was supposedly from the room, and grabbed the items from her pocket and dropped it in trying ot be sneaky! Hotel would not refund cost of hotel room. WILL NEVER stay here again! DO NOT BRING ANY personal belongings to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisStone, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Trip Advisor review. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. When dealing with valuables such as jewelry I recommend that guests not place them in what would appear to be garbage. This guest placed her $700.00 worth of jewelry in a coffee cup with a lid on it. Housekeeping ended up finding the jewelry after searching through garbage bag after garbage bag.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the property directly.

Thanks and have a Super day!

Dennis L. Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I'm not going to knock the hotel management and owner but I've stayed at or near this hotel many times and I have to say that it's a bit "ghetto". Mostly the location, being on the notorious "East Side" of St. Paul with ample quantities of criminals around. The hotel staff tries to keep this riff raft out as best they can but the cops are here all the time with problems.

Chances are, you may not have any trouble here and it's a convenient location but I've seen several rooms being rented out on weekly and monthly basis to homeless people, crack heads and druggies. I think you will find a mix of cheap business travelers, some families, young party kids, and a few drug users. I just wouldn't stay here with my kids and get stuck on the elevator ride with some crack heads and prostitutes. I think there are far better choices around with less trouble. Plus, why would I want to sleep in a bed where some of these dirty grubby people have been sleeping?

I would recommend the Holiday Inn at I-94 / McKnight. It might cost a bit more but it's 10 times better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mytravels234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisStone, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Trip Advisor review. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. We do have weekly and monthly specials that we offer year round. We do call the police anytime their assistance is needed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the property directly.

Thanks and have a Super day!

Dennis L. Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauk Centre, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I got this hotel room through Hotwire for $29 + tax (which wound up being about $39 after that was factored in.)

This hotel was simple, fairly clean, and decently comfortable for a one-night stay. The room was somewhat small, though more spacious because there was only one double bed (as I got a single room). The bed was clean, though the comforter did have a couple of grease-looking stains on it, along with some pin-size holes. Nothing chronic, however, and not enough to mark it down considerably.

The room itself was clean, with basic amenities. The sink was outside the bathroom, and the bathroom itself felt very small at first, though I got used to it. The pad of paper looked worn and only had a couple of sheets left on it.

The hallway was somewhat musty, and the elevator smelled of smoke. Not overbearingly so, but enough that people with sensitive lungs may have trouble with it.

There was a basic (rolls, cereal, bread, juice, milk, and coffee) breakfast served in the morning. Some people in the hotel seem to take the tray to the breakfast area, fill it with food, and go back to their room and eat. It also appeared that there are some people that live in the hotel. However, the people that I encountered at the breakfast bar were friendly, so they don't seem to be those that would cause a disturbance.

The staff was amazing. They were always friendly and more than willing to help. I never had an issue with them at all, and recommend them highly.

The neighborhood that the hotel is located in is shadier than a downtown hotel would be. I would not recommend walking outside after dark alone (except to a vehicle in the parking lot. The parking lot is well lit; however, the sidewalk to the bus station is not well lit between the hotel and the neighboring gas station.) As an anecdote, the staff has trouble keeping one of the side doors locked, as people put a rock in the doorframe to prop the door open. (I went to SuperAmerica to grab a few things and kicked the rock out on my way out, and it was propped back open already by the time I came back from SuperAmerica; about 10-15 minutes away, at most.)

There is a SuperAmerica next to the property, which has basic roller grill items and other gas station fare, including numerous cold and microwavable sandwiches and a wide variety of fountain pop. Located here is also a Metro Transit bus route (63, if I remember correctly.) Although I never took the bus on this trip, I have used Metro Transit before, and it is an okay option for getting from place to place. There is also a Walgreen's kiddy corner from the gas station, a Subway on that same corner, and another gas station located there also. A church is also located next to the hotel, if you're there on Sunday morning.

Ultimately, for $29 this hotel was a great value, and would recommend it if you're able to get a deal on it. I believe the standard rate is $69, and although at that rate it's not a great deal, it's not horrible. Although I have not stayed at it, there is a La Quinta about a tenth of a mile away with a pool (the Super 8 does not have one) that is either $79 or $89 a night, if I remember correctly. And if they ever charge the rates that are stated on the door in your room ($199 one person and $100 for each additional person), I'd look elsewhere. ;)

There are three pictures below (the TripAdvisor limit), but I took a few more. They're available online at https://picasaweb.google.com/104215874659031045387/Super8StPaul?feat=directlink if you want to look at them.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebr1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisStone, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete this tripadvisor review. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you. We look forward to having you back again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations you might need.

Thanks and have a Super day!

Dennis L. Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Stayed in this motel two weeks. No problems with cleanliness and service. This could be a nice hotel, but for the clientele: pity the poor children of divorce who may be staying there, but their progenitors are another matter . . .
There were people often hanging around the front door and in the lobby who were not of a welcoming disposition, to understate it.
The walls are thin, and I was awakened several times with noise from other rooms, but not every night.
I often saw what appeared to be a pitbull on a leash in the lobby; it neither growled nor lunged at me, but these dogs and their owners make me very, very nervous. I might stay at this motel again, but it will be a resort of last resort.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliennative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisStone, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete this tripadvisor review. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you during your stay in St. Paul, MN. We look forward to having you back again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations you might need.

Thanks and have a Super day!

Dennis L. Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed here with my girlfriend after a long day at the Mall of America. The drive there from Mall of America seemed to take us through a bit of a ghetto area. The hotel was not in a very nice area either. The night we stayed there, some sort of domestic violence went down in the parking lot. I went to the front desk to ask if I could get a comb for my girlfriend, but no one was there. Next thing I know, a kid comes running in and said "he's [the front desk guy] dealing with a bad situation. There's a lady getting choked in the parking lot." I preceded to go back to my room, and dead bolt the door. I watched out the window a bit and saw a few police cars come a figure the situation out. After all of this, I kind of expected to go out the next morning and find my car up on blocks.

The hotel however was everything it needed to be. It had been recently renovated and was cozy and clean. There was the usual super 8 breakfast. Nothing too fancy. If only the girl with the ghetto mom did throw up everywhere in the breakfast room, I would have enjoyed it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisStone, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a Trip Advisor review. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. I can assure you that any cleanliness issues you encountered are definitely an isolated incident for this property.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the property directly.

Thanks and have a Super day!

Dennis L. Stone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
195 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
3.3 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 St Paul I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 St Paul I-94

Property: Motel 6 St Paul I-94
Address: 1739 Old Hudson Rd, Saint Paul, MN 55106-6120 (Formerly Super 8 St Paul / I-94)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 St Paul I-94 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, fitness room, and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with complimentary coffee from 6 am to 10 am. We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Davannis, Wendys, Culvers, Subway, Los Ocampo, and The Little Oven. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Excel Energy Center and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 St Paul I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super 8
Saint Paul Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing