We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel we've stayed at in a long time - very long time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 St Paul I-94
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I wish I read the above reviews before coming here. To say dingy and run-down is being kind. The St. Paul policeman in the lobby should have been our first warning. The women with the pierced nose at the desk wasn't overly friendly.

The elevator is still not working so we had to walk up to the third floor. The room has cigarette burns on the bed covers. The hair dryer is missing - there is a spot for it on the wall but no dryer. There is no fridge either. My wife opened the information binder and it was empty.

Unbelievable for $100 a night and its booked for the night. We would leave now but it's only for one night. Curious how breakfast will turn out in the morning.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank FDMcGady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems and conditions you found during your stay. The hotel will be going through some major changes and improvements in the coming months. This is not an excuse for the issues you encountered, we are only excited about many positive changes coming very soon. Again, my deepest apologies for the environment and conditions you found unsatisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had the misfortune to stay here during the annual BMW motorcycle owners rally. Had I known better I would have camped. The motel is dingy, run down and has a get-me-outta-here feel. The elevator did not work, and the carpeting in the stairs looked covered in caked-in grease. Frequent visits by city police to the premises suggested ongoing of trouble. On a positive note, the WiFi worked and the room was reasonably comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. Comments such as yours can only help us improve our service and hotel condition. My sincere apologies for the condition and the environment you felt were not to your standards. We are striving to improve the hotel in the coming month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank ChadB001
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had to book a room in St Paul en route so didn't look at reviews before booking, which turned out to be a mistake. I had stayed in a fabulous Super 8 in Asheville NC and when the receptionist said the St Paul location was 'newly renovated' I took that as a good sign.

There are families living in this hotel. It feels something like a cross between a welfare hotel and a public psychiatric hospital. When I arrived there were people congregating near the front door as if it was a park bench. There are two old cars for sale in the parking lot, with stuff wedged behind the tires, and a third of the rest of the cars had broken windows covered with duct tape and plastic wrap. The self-locking back door is often propped open with rocks.

In a non-smoking room the bed covers were stained and peppered with cigarette burns. The whole hotel smells of stale cigarette smoke. Nothing works. There is banging and shouting at all hours of the night. I only stayed the night because I had been driving for eight hours and it was after 10pm when I arrived but during the night I wondered if I'd make it out alive.

The staff are pleasant and know what a terrible place they work in and I felt bad for them as they dealt as well as they could with their awful work environment. The receptionist had clearly answered the same questions ('Why is my bedding covered with cigarette burns?' and 'Why does my room smell so bad?') over and over again. Given what they have to work with, I thought the cleaners were doing an okay job. To get this place really clean you'd need a hazmat kit.

Whatever the management say here about how welcome the feedback is, they 'will take action' to remedy what is wrong etc, it's just so much hot air. By the looks of the reviews absolutely nothing has changed in years. I can only surmise that it is more reliably profitable to have families living here in terrible conditions than it would be to clean it up and have to attract a new clientele who are looking for a few nights' stay in a nice, reasonably-priced hotel. (Not that this hotel is cheap even now; I think it was $100 per night for a room which should have cost $40 at best.)

I cannot believe Super 8 has not severed its ties with this franchisee. Because of this experience I will never book a Super 8 again. Really vile.

Room Tip: 1) Get in your car and drive as far from here as possible. 2) Book any other hotel in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HANH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. I have reviewed your concerns with our staff in efforts to correct many of the problems you identified during your stay. We are striving as a team to solve many of the issues you had during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you had with your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steven V, General Manager at Motel 6 St Paul I-94, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Paul
7.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
6.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
1 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 St Paul I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 St Paul I-94

Address: 1739 Old Hudson Rd, Saint Paul, MN 55106-6120 (Formerly Super 8 St Paul / I-94)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: £31 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 St Paul I-94 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 St. Paul is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, fitness room, and much more. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with complimentary coffee from 6 am to 10 am. We have several restaurants nearby; Sonic, Davannis, Wendys, Culvers, Subway, Los Ocampo, and The Little Oven. We are located minutes from The State Capitol, Science Museum of Minnesota, Downtown St. Paul, Excel Energy Center and Mall of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 St Paul I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St Paul / i-94 Hotel Saint Paul
Super 8 Saint Paul
Super Eight Saint Paul
Saint Paul Super 8
Saint Paul Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing