We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a very nice, quiet room with a little refrigerator and microwave on the 8th floor. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations of places to eat and maps and directions. The room had a coffee maker, too, so we could have our first cup in the room and then go out for breakfast. The hotel's location was great; the connection to the sky way was right there, and we could get just about anywhere downtown without going outside.

Parking was $15 a day (which is not bad for a downtown hotel) and we were given a card to swipe so we had in an out privileges. The parking garage was very roomy and just adjacent to the hotel.

We didn't have any meals in the hotel restaurant, so I can't comment on that. We don't like big breakfasts so we went just down the street to a bagel place. The hotel restaurant closed at 11 am and didn't open until supper time. We opted to go out for breakfast and supper. We were out at lunch time anyway.

My husband and I agree that we would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: The 8th floor was very quiet and the housekeepers were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty3416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

We are happy to hear that your stay with us was pleasant one. Since our conversion to the Doubletree brand we continue to work very hard to demonstrate friendly and warm hospitality to all our guests. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Very comfortable beds, and the staff was really good ! We have stayed at every hotel in downtown St Paul and this is the 2nd best one. Only the St Paul hotel is better, and that is a whole different class of hotel. The only disapointing thing was no complimentary coffee, It's $1.25 a cup in the restaurant ( none at or near the front desk) and it took some doing to get 2 cups to go back to the room with. If you want to be in the downtown area, the Hilton will give you a good room and a fair price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ititit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Let me say, I am very, I am very disappointed by this Doubletree Hotel because I have stayed at a Doubletree before and was very pleased.
The staff was distant and not knowledgeable. They forgot to give us the breakfast coupons or denied them to other members of our team.
The shuttle kept us waiting for 30 minutes and arrived after another 15 minutes after several calls. The shuttle driver had been sent to the wrong location. After a complaint at the receptionist she apologized and simple said the driver was confused.
My coworker did not get her wake-up call and amost missed breakfast.
The whole hotel needs a make-over.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and we’re sorry that we couldn’t live up to your high expectations of us. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay but we clearly dropped the ball this time. We’ve addressed the shuttle miscommunication and wake-up call mishap with our team so we can improve for the future. I hope that the next time you’re in the area you’ll visit us again and experience a much higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel isn't flashy but it does exactly what it says on the tin. A comfortable bed, clean and tidy, it's a little tired looking but it does the job. If you're looking to be wowed by a hotel, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddlemethis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Convenient location in downtown St. Paul with good access to the Skywalk. Standard amenities, but extremely substandard resturaunt and pathetic service. Don't eat there, there are plenty of plaves wwithin a short walk.

Room Tip: Become a Hilton Honors Member for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodwinegoofnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to a single person! We booked a block of rooms at this hotel for the nights leading up to our wedding and our wedding night. What a disaster! There were issues from the get go, no safes in the rooms? Who doesn't have safes in their guest rooms now days. But you can use their 'community safe' run by their staff who jack your sunglasses if you accidentally leave them at the front desk. Oh and if you want to bring your wedding gifts and money back to the room?! They just hand keys out to your room no matter who you are! Come on, come all! Their shuttle service, well don't rely on them! They are no-shows! And their Front Desk Manager, Paul...what an arrogant, unprofessional human being he is! Clearly he has NO idea what the definition of customer service is.

I could continue on. Don't waste your money, you will be utterly disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. I understand what a stressful and important event it was for you and I’m sincerely sorry for your experience. We want all of our guests to have a relaxing and wonderful stay. I can assure you this is not typical of our hotel and staff and I have addressed the issues you mentioned. Your safety, security, and satisfaction is important to us and I ask that you please call me so we can discuss this further. Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to speaking to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a conference and trade show at the Excel Center. This hotel offered comfort, friendly staff and business tools.
The only thing we didn't like was the bar. Our drink had bugs in it! After a long day, we were looking forward to a cold drink.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Goodlifesupplement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: £99 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing