We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced room servie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
A TripAdvisor Member
“Overpriced room servie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Room smelt as though someone had possibly smoked in it when we first arrived we also noted the hallways smelt like stale food even though we did not see any trays in the hall. Room service is way over priced especially for breakfast $45 for two basic meals. The bed though was very comfortable and the room temprature was easy to control.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    277
    165
    76
    29
See reviews for
192
158
25
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The staff was wonderful, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast and a fun location! The beds were the most comfortable I have slept on in a hotel and the style and decor of the hotel was very impressive. Had a wonderful time with our family and would certainly stay here again. It was a wonderful experience to have, they accommodated our extended family and wedding party to create wonderful memories all together, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Abbie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at Doubletree St. Paul for 3 months while in town on business. Their lack of security puts the guest in jeopardy. Homeless people walk in and out of the hotel and I was approached by a homeless woman asking me for money as I got off the elevator on the 15th floor. I called security and no one ever came up to talk to me or take a report. As I checked out of th a homeless guy followed me out from the lobby to the shuttlle. When I didn't give him any cash, he used a racial slur.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LaVerneH929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
As with all hotels located in a downtown metropolitan area and on a very rare occasion a homeless person does enter the lobby. The staff is always on high alert and will address the situation when we see it or when our guess sees it. Thank you for the heads up. I will meet with the hotel staff and security staff about your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Rating of "Poor" due to several annoyances from the service. As a Diamond member w/ preferences to obtain breakfast vouchers, my complimentary meal only included fruit whereas my colleagues received credit for the full breakfast. Additionally, the beers (yes, multiple) we ordered in the evening time were beyond flat and should be restricted from service. Further, I had to request maintenance to my room on a repeated basis, as they did not address the issue when first contacted early that morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Collin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bschmechel2011, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Collin V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of you recent stay with us at our hotel. We are sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience. We always want to make sure that our guests have a culinary experience that will enhance the quality of their stay and I apologize that we fell short of our normally high standards. I have notified our staff of your issues in an effort to make sure that this does not happen again. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you'll give us another chance and stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,
Brian Schmechel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here in November for work and enjoyed my stay. The rooms were clean and well-maintained and the underground parking made loading and unloading quite easy. The hotel restaurant was a bit pricey though.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 349db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Okay space. Average accomodations, nice staff. The property needs updating and the staff do their best to work around and work through that reality. The immediate neighborhood feels a bit shady, but not once did I think it wasnt safe.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WhereIsMarkNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a very expensive cheap hotel; breakfast is not included in the price, so watch out. Some of our family members got vouchers for breakfast, but I think they got a deal because they were in the military. Also, the tenth floor smelled like stale tobacco smoke, which was unpleasant. Otherwise it was okay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Address: 411 Minnesota Street, Saint Paul, MN 55101 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing