We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 28 May 2014

even though the hotel was under construction we had a very nice room.. Front desk was very accommodating and got us into adjoining rooms. The only observation I had was when we went to breakfast on the 2nd floor the only way to get back on the elevator was with a room key which was not explained anywhere on the advertisements in elevator or brochures. Luckily we had one on us, but other guests did not and was thankful that we were able to get an elevator for them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi David
Yes, we lock off the elevators for key use only to give our guest added privacy. I will meet with the front desk team to make sure they mention this added security option when our guest arrive.
Thank you for your feedback.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My visit here was quick, but I experience both pro's and cons. CONS: I stayed at this location as it was located right across the street from a conference I was attending. I was surprised to find that there was no valet/bellman available (I arrived around 5pm). Though I was on business, I was traveling with heavy items and no assistance was offered. During check-in, the front desk staff were pleasant, but did not make an effort to make me feel at home. I had dropped many hints that I was from out of town - business travel, 1st time here, long flight, hungry. I was fishing to see if they would indulge me and tell me where to eat, or things to do. But nothing. Crickets! The coffee pot in my room was broken as was the TV. The final Con to this review is that I always seem to ride the elevator with a homeless person. One homeless lady started screaming sexual obscenities at me. Needless to say, I only left my room when I had to. PROS: -The bed was very comfortable - and I slept really well despite being scared that a homeless person was going to break in! -Connected to sky ways and easy to get to/from different buildings. -The coffee pot that was broken was quickly replaced after a phone call. - I got a cookie at check in. Didn't cure my hunger, but it helped.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Allison
Thank you for your comments. I will meet with my front office team and discuss your check-in process and how we could have made it more welcoming. I was glad to hear everything else was to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

There is a great skywalk attached to the hotel with tons of places to eat etc. However none of these are open on the weekend! This isn't the hotel's fault of course but very frustrating. They also don't offer any help ordering from somewhere other than the hotel dining which is very expensive,especially for a family. The pool is quite small, no hot tub and was closed due to a scheduled power outage on the first three floors.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Debra
We are sorry for the inconvenience that the pool was closed during your visit. We had to reroute some electrical wires that day due to our construction project. The New lobby is now open !
Also, the new restaurant will be open in just a few weeks.
We were happy to hear everything else was to your satisfaction.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location. Good rooms. Good food. Good value. Only detraction was the remodeling of the lobby. Other than that, the stay was good. Courteous staff at the desk and very helpful. Shuttle service within the city is a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Merle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Merle
We opened our brand new lobby yesterday May 28th. We hope to see you again soon. Enjoy your summer.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed at a different Hilton brand property in St. Paul last fall, and was very unhappy so I decided to give this one a try. It was MUCH nicer than my last experience in St. Paul. This hotel is currently going through a remodel in the lobby, which was no problem and I think it is going to look very nice once completed. My room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. I did have one of the corner rooms near the elevators, and I think that may have given some extra space. The hotel was in a good location, and also offered shuttle services around the area, which was a great perk. I only had a couple of minor issues that kept this stay from being perfect. I am a Hilton Diamond member and was not recognized as such at all. Typically when I check into any Hilton property, I am thanked for my membership and also offered some perks. They are typically small things like even a bottle of water, but nothing here. Also, I received a breakfast voucher (which I think is a perk of being a diamond member, but was not mentioned when I was handed my key with the enclosed voucher), but it was only for continental breakfast. You were required to pay an additional $3 surcharge if you wanted any of the hot food at the buffet. I have stayed at other Doubletrees where the hot breakfast included made-to-order omelets, pancakes, etc., but not here. It was your standard Hilton precooked eggs and bacon that you would be served for free at a Hampton Inn. I just felt like charging a diamond member $3 for the hot portion of this breakfast was really nickel-and-diming it. It certainly did not make me feel like a valued member of the Hilton network. And my final concern was with the parking charge on my receipt. Parking at the hotel lot is $15 for anyone who wants to pull in there for the night. If you are staying at the hotel, they give you a parking card that allows you in-and-out access and puts the $15 on your room. Great! However, when you check out you will be charged hotel taxes on that $15, where if you just pay it as you leave you certainly would not be charged extra in taxes. It was only a couple of bucks, but it is the principle of the thing. The hotel should not be charging hotel taxes on the parking fee. I guess if you were going in and out of the lot (which we did not - we never moved our car), it may be nice to go through the hotel and get the card, but if you are just parking for the night, pay it yourself and avoid this extra charge. All said, I certainly would not downplay this hotel over a few dollars here and there. I liked the room, the overall setting, and the location. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for giving us another chance. We were pleased to hear that you had a much better experience. I will meet with my front office manager to reiterate the importance of our brand promise and recognition to you our loyal customers. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I would hesitate to recommend this hotel. Front Desk Manager is supreme at his job. Need more like him. Housekeeping needs major upgrade in training. Until renovation is complete and the rooms décor is updated would stay away. Most of the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 773audreyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We would be very interested in receiving more feedback on the housekeeping services provided. In the meantime I will certainly pass on your wonderful comments concerning our front office manager.

Thank you!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel was renovating the lobby and really worked to operate in the smaller space. They went above and beyond to fix a problem that was not their fault with a taxi company. Very friendly and everyone on the staff was sure to tell us how great things would be with the new lobby and entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 903gerryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to serving you again.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: £91 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing