We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of office but a longer walk from restaurants and other activities. Hotel HVAC needs work as my room was never cool enough yet someone else's room was never warm enough. Humidity level in my room also high, another sign of HVAC issues. Otherwise, rooms could use a little updating but everything worked fine.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bubbartzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are very sorry to hear you had HVAC issues. I will look into it with our engineering department.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Wish I could attach a photo of my bathtub although you would lose your appetite. I checked into my room and the tub was full of what looked like vomit or feces in standing water. I took a picture and showed the front desk and they didn't apologize but rather said they can't inspect every room! What!? If you have problems like this then you had better check every room. Nasty.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dismiss3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I truly apologize for your experience at our hotel. I have shared your feedback with my staff and will address each concern.
Again, we apologize. We really do care.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Was stuck in the hotel elevator for 1.5 hours. Maintenance guy couldn't figure out how to fix. Had to call elevator company for repair. My brother finally figured out how to get the elevator doors open. Escalator not working in the hotel. Long hairs found in the bathroom after it had been cleaned. Ice build up formed in fridge, needed to be thawed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant experience you had. We're making every effort to make the necessary updates and repairs to our elevators and improving some of our quality assurance practices. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and please feel free to contact us if you have any additional concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is was my second time staying at a DoubleTree by Hilton in the last year. On my first stay they neglected to tell us on check in that the A/C was not working, and had not been since that morning. Very frustrating. Decided to give them another shot recently and, while the room looked nice, the stay wasn't the best for a couple of reasons. First, water pressure in the shower was very poor and the shower drain was about as slow as can be. At the end of a 5 minute shower, I was in ankle deep water. Second, there were numerous false alarm fire alarms throughout the night, starting around 3 am and the last one we heard before we left was around 9:30 am. Very difficult to get a good night sleep with the alarms blaring. Last, we were told on check in that we could either pay our parking at the front desk or to the ramp attendant when we left, and that it would be the same price either way, $15. We opted to just pay the attendant on our way out. When we left, the attendant charged us $23, they said it was because we were 1 hour over the 24 hour time limit. Very frustrating stay and we will not be staying at a DoubleTree again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us during your travels to our area. However, we're very disappointed that your recent stay fell short of meeting your expectations. We appreciate your feedback about the plumbing issues, false fire alarm disruptions, and miscommunciation regarding the parking fee. We have passed on your comments to the appropriate teams and are working to ensure such missteps do not continue. We hope that you'll consider giving us a second chance to demonstrate our true hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I enjoyed my short stay at the Double Tree. My room was lovely and quiet. Being a Honors member I got free water. I also enjoyed having the little refrigerator. The desk help was very friendly and helpful answering my questions. I also liked that there was a business center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you Diana for the very nice comments.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very nice stay - the usual comfy Doubletree bed (and delicious cookie). The hotel appears to have been recently updated. Quiet location but easily accessible. New restaurant was quite good - outdoor seating was nice. Connected via skyway to City Center (which is where the coffee is). Walkable to cultural sites.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you John!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just what we needed. We were attending a wedding and this was the perfect place. They have a new restaurant that just opened on street level. The bar has 26 variety of draft beer, yes 26 ! Wood Pizza oven. The Cook "Pizzaiolo" who cooks the pizza is very friendly and likes to chat when you sit a the open kitchen counter. He will explain the process to you. They also have anotherresaurant for breakfast on the second floor with a nice variety of breakfast items. Bacon is great. I like strong coffee so after the waiter poured the first cup I asked him to stop. Room for improvement there for my taste. Everybody is very friendly in the hotel Parking is extremely easy. They have very nice TV with HD. Our room was spacious and clean with new Hilton linen. The General Manager there is doing a very good job.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunseekersMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Excellent review! Thank you and come back soon!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: £92 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing