We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay For Cousins Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel was nice overpriced though. Really enjoyed the breakfast buffet very good and priced average. The other restaurant and bar were overpriced for what you received. Rooms were adequate with very nice amenities such as the fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank jeano975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you Jean for the nice comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

The person at check-in was very nice, efficient and helpful. Gave us a map of the city so we could find our way. The room was comfortable. We did mention to the front desk that our room had a smoking odor. He said he would check into it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Anne
We are so glad to hear everything was perfect. Thank you for your comments.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

As a Diamond Memeber I thought I have seen everything but used condoms under the bed! REALLY! In a state of shock! I'm done with this place. Apathic staff! I told the hotel manager at 8am this morning and then showed him the pics. He promised a free night or 10000 points. Guess what? went to my room at 5pm tonight still used condoms under the bed.! Housekeening made my bed. but did not pick up the filth. Amazed!. Had them move me. No manager around tonight. Will load used condom pics shortly. NEVER EVER STAY HERE! Will call health dept tomorrow, Hilton corporate their management team and send picks to local TV stations. Left a message for General Manager

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. Pay more St Paul hotel. Hotels downtown ST Paiul are awful!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Andrew
We spoke this morning and again I am very sorry about your experience. As discussed, i have dealt with the executive housekeeper and the room attendant. We also made sure you were completely satisfied in how we made it right with you. We work very hard to see that all our guests are completely satisfied upon their departure. Again, please accept our apologies.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Whenever we travel we look for Hilton hotels, and are seldom disappointed. We have been staying at this downtown hotel several times a year for a number of years because it is conveniently connected to the skyway system, and we can travel almost all the way to our daughter's condo in Lowertown without going outside, which is handy in middle of the Minnesota winter! This hotel has gone through three or four name changes, but has stayed consistently excellent until now.

Our last two or three visits have been quite disappointing in terms of service. The rooms are still spotless and the beds are still super comfortable, but as HiltonHonors members, we are no longer given the perks we used to be offered. Sure, the warm cookies are still there, but the complimentary breakfast and the occasional upgrades have disappeared since the new management took over, and lately we have not been assigned rooms on the club level floors. Can it really be possible that all the rooms on all three Honors floors would have been occupied on a Sunday?

I do hope that I can persuade my husband to return, because I love that Euro-style bedding, but we might just have to try out the competition overlooking the Mississippi a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your feed back. We have added additional HHonors floors a couple of months ago and now have 5 floors totaling 100 HHonors rooms. Yes, we have and do sell out on Sunday's. At times they may not be available. Also, we are pleased to tell you that we are now offering a full breakfast to all our Gold and Diamond HHonors members.
We hope to see you again soon.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Sure, there aren't too many frills to the DoubleTree, besides the hot cookie at check-in which they seem oddly obsessed with, but our experience staying here was still very good overall.

First off, we were allowed to check-in early despite my not giving them an advanced heads-up, which was not at all expected but very much appreciated. Our room was not super modern by any means, and the bathroom was pretty small/awkwardly laid out, but that is really nitpicking -- it was clean, spacious and comfortable overall. The location is great -- loved being walking distance to Mickey's Diner Car (which is a great experience any out-of-towner should check out), a number of decent bars and an excellent pizza place (Black Sheep).

They were a bit strangely late on replacing linens/coffee etc. between our first and second night of our stay -- the housekeeper came into the room after knocking lightly once at about 5 p.m. -- but she was apologetic and it was not a huge deal.. she came back a few minutes later after we'd left. That was really our only small issue.

A good value, too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerben85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed Saturday night for a wedding in the area. Great location, easy to find from the interstate. The lobby area is lovely and the staff are so kind and accommodating. Secure parking area for $15 per day. Hotel shuttle service available. As far as the rooms go they are just fair. Nice bedding, tv and decorating...but uncomfortably small bathrooms, icky carpet and sub-par cleanliness. This is a great property, they just need to up their game in the housekeeping department.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLGWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the great service we provided. I have also met with our housekeeping department and addressed your concerns.
We hope you will consider us again when travels call for the Twin Cities.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice DoubleTree, improving all the time. Great beds and bed linens. Front desk staff is lovely. The hotel has changed brands several times in the last several years and there are some inherent infrastructure issues--the bathrooms are small, the light on certain floors is limited. However over the years the hotel has just kept getting better. Rooms have been upgraded, there is a new restaurant in the hotel and the lobby has been remodeled. Nice connection to the sky walks in St Paul.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSchmechel1, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Joanne
We are very pleased with how the renovation turned out. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown

Address: 411 Minnesota St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1703 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Paul
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: £107 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Paul Downtown offers guests comfortable accommodations in a convenient location in the heart of St. Paul’s entertainment and business district and skyway connected to many state, federal and corporate offices as well as great shopping and dining outlets. Each guest room in our St. Paul hotel includes a microwave and refrigerator for you convenience plus complimentary wireless for you to stay connected while away. Relax in the indoor heated pool or keep up with your exercise routine in the modern fitness center. Check out nearby attractions like the top-rated Minnesota Children’s Museum or Minnesota Science Museum. Visit us and enjoy The DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown and a memorable trip to the Twin Cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St Paul City Hotel Saint Paul
Hilton Garden Inn Saint Paul
Hilton Saint Paul
Saint Paul Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing