We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This is one of the best hotel experiences that we can remember. Friendly, clean and competent. The property is absolutely beautiful. Though it may have been the location of our room, it was the most quiet hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff goes out of its way to accomodate and make sure you are happy. The area is very walkable -- near the river and the capitol building. Anytime I have a Starbucks nearby for my morning after walk coffee -- I appreciate it. There is one across the street. We had a fabulous dinner at the St paul Grill -- in our opinion, far better than the meal we had at Manny's Steak House. The vibe, the staff, the service and the food were at or above expectations. When we decided to take dessert to our room -- rather than pack it in a carton, they plated it and made sure we had the necessary flatware and linen napkins. Finally, this is the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in that is less than a $30 cab ride from an airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ask K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    181
    52
    27
    13
See reviews for
122
260
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We recently spent a night here as we were going to the Coldplay concert in the nearby Excel Energy Center and I will have to say that the Hotel was great in every way. We were greeted by a very friendly young man at the front desk who made us feel very welcome and then went to our room which was really really nice. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. There was absolutely nothing wrong with our stay here. The valet service was excellent and we treated well by everyone we ran into. A great experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryBanilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The room was very confortable and the size quite nice. We spent the night here for our 10th anniversary. Issues...First we didnt like there was a rug in the bathroom that was in the way and always seemed to get stuck under the door. We ended up pushing it under the sink so we didnt trip over it. Second there was no fan in the bathroom and it got quite steamy after a shower. Third we could hear people talking in the hallway. It sounded as if they were in our room. Wouldnt have been bad but it was after midnight and it woke us up. Fourth we were charged for the valet parking which was part of our room package but it was taken right off so watch the bill slipped under your door in the middle of the night. I might stay here again but only for a special occasion because it is spendy, so be prepared. They do accept AAA or AARP but not if you buy a package.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vluv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Old school charm hotel that excedes in service. The room was very well appointed, bed comfortable, very clean. The only issue was with the AC I just couldn't get the room to cool to a comfortable level. The St. Paul Grill is excellent and room service was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel. The service is a ten, there isn't a person in the hotel who didn't provide service with a smile. The location is fantastic for all the action in St. Paul. This hotel is a gem!

Room Tip: Get to floors above 8 for a decent view of the park or river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msp2phl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Saint Paul Hotel is a rare gem! It combines the elegance and comfort of an Old World hotel but offers all the amenities of a modern world. The staff is second the none. It is within walking distance of many things in St Paul, MN. The Sunday brunch is to die for! The rooms could use a mini update with brighter colors, but other than that, you will not be disappointed!!!! Now I know what Minneapolis/St Paul is always on the top of the list for places to live! Art, theaters, 5 star restaurants, shopping at the Mall of America---Wow! Best kept secret!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTravelerIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The hotel and the room was absoluately beautiful. While an old (historic) hotel, everything felt fresh and clean. The room included plush towels (at least plush in hotel standards) and bath robes (which I always appreicate).

Had dinner and drinks at the hotel...good food and nice selection (though I thought a bit expensive for what you go).

My only complaint was that the rooms are somewhat noisy. Heard kids running up and down the hall around midnight (okay, this is really the parent's fault!). Also, could hear street noise. I was on the 8th floor and could clearly hear the festivities in the park in the evening (still going on at 10:30 when I tried to go to sleep).

Nice shower (great water pressure!). Bed was also very comfortable. Gym was also better than average (and had a great view!).

Room Tip: I would say a higher room would have the probabilty of having less street noise...though still loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel was great. I loved the inside and the great big chandeliers when you walk in. The hotel was redone nicely. It has it's old charm still but beautifully upgraded. The rooms were cozy, clean and comfortable. My view was great too. The water pressure was great in the shower and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was great too!

Room Tip: The executive suite is the way to go for a great view and comfortable and roomy stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyT148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Property: The Saint Paul Hotel
Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing