We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Willowbrook
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed there on a weekend. Arrived around 3 on Friday and check-in was a breeze. Came down later and lobby was packed with people arriving. We timed that right. Staff was very attentive, everytime we exited or entered a bellhop was there, smiling and holding the door. Maids smile and say good morning when passed in the hall. Which is expected at a fine hotel but so many times nowadays doesn't happen. We had a suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the front entrance. Was worried at first that street noise might be a problem but it wasn't. Slept fine in the comfy king size bed with high quality linens. We had a B&B package with a $30 coupon for breakfast in the lower level cafe. There was a breakfast buffet which seemed to be popular but we ordered off the menu. Food was good and wait staff pleasant. Sunday morning the cafe was very crowded but the staff really hussled, cleaning off & resetting tables quickly and keeping the hot coffee coming. Didn't eat in the other hotel restaurants as there are several good places just down the street. Our package included valet parking and our car was at the door waiting when we we came down. If we're ever back in St. Paul, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    181
    52
    27
    13
See reviews for
122
260
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Check-in was efficient and we were assured the bill would be divided equally between our two credit cards. When we checked out that was not the case and we had to go through the credit cards division again. The room was lovely with plush beds and bedding.
Unfortunately our deciding to eat at the two hotel restaurants proved to be poor decision. More on the restaurant review.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinTasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here Saturday night. The hotel was full and there was a wedding party there, but it was so quiet. Our bed was so, so comfortable,and my husband said he hasn't slept so well and so deeply as he did there. He also said we have to buy the same buttery soft sheets.

Our room was spotlessly clean and cozy. You may think it a bit spendy, but I like knowing that our room is really clean and that I don't have to worry about anything. The employees are all wonderful here. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I knew we would be staying at a nice traditional Historic Hotel - and indeed once we drove up it as evident this was a grand dame. What we didn't expect was excellent service. The uniformed doormen, in top hat no less are tremendous. Brian at the reception desk was conversational and warm. Megan the concierge was incredible and was standing at her concierge desk greeting me as I was walking to the door to go on my appointments when I asked her if she could help me with directions - without a blink - next thing I had was Google Map of the three locations and a return back to the Hotel.

I don't sleep well in hotels - but I did at the Saint Paul - our room was so darn clean and the linens were so luxurious and we must of had 10 pillows on that bed - I slept like a baby!
Well done Saint Paul, well done!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micarl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The room was nice and clean, the staff was pleasant. I would recommend skipping the restaurant (St. Paul Grille) for dinner as it was expensive and the food was lousy(will post a separate review under the restaurant with details). Nice hotel for a business stay but with being dowtown everything closes early.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ljm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

I was traveling on business to downtown St.Paul and usually stay in Minneapolis and commute but decided to try this for convenience. It was a great experience. Everyone very friendly and helpful. I had a lovely large room with sitting area that was beautifully decorated but comfortable and it was actually a pleasure to sit in my room. By comparison the bathroom was rather tiny and not comparable to the room but it was adequate with nice aveda toiletries. Room service was spot on time for breakfast and the restaurant downstairs was excellent. Complimentary Internet access unless you want the higher capacity for movies etc.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We spent a night here for a weekend getaway in August. The hotel is very nice and has a beautiful garden out front. There is a park right across the street that has statues of Peanuts characters. It's also a short walk to many restaurants and shops, plus to the Excel Energy Center (for Hockey fans) and the Science Museum.
The Staff of the hotel were friendly and helpful. We did not dine here, so don't know much about the food service. There's a Starbucks and Bruegger's Bagel place within walking distance.
Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shotguncloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Property: The Saint Paul Hotel
Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing