We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A finely appointed hotel with excellent service. The room was spacious, very clean, and the bed comfortable. Our meeting was served excellent food, both lunch and breaks, and the staff was top notch. You'll feel comfortably at home here. Oh, and for the early exercisers, the exercise room has a beautiful morning view of the river and the bridge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for The Saint Paul Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I've been to the Grill and I've given gift cards for stays at the hotel and dinner and have heard back that it was incredible. So i decided to make this an annual birthday gift. I now live in Australia and was looking to purchase a gift card for my parents, who live in Minnesota. To make a long story short I was unable to do it online and after enquiring I received a phone call, an international phone call none the less, to help me take care of it. This personal touch and attention to detail is what is missing from most restaurants/hotels these days but not the ST. PAUL HOTEL & GRILL. It seems to be a quickly fading art. So if you truly want to treat yourself or a loved one to a place that prides itself on customer service, quality and attention to detail in every way this is the place to go! The food IS excellent and the accommodation is tops on my list! Thanks Travis!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you so much Joie! What a wonderful endorsement of our employees. They work very hard to earn your trust, so thank you for sharing your comments. And, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit from down under!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It is in a good location. The rooms are big. The bathroom is big. The hotel is well maintained. My room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Even though the hotel seemed full I did not hear my neighbors or people walking in the hallways.
There were a few disappointments however: the valet service was extremely slow. It took almost half an hour to get the car each day. The driveway of the hotel is small and always seemed congested, making it difficult to drop off the car as well. The valets did inform me that I could self park next door for the same price of $20 per day, but mentioned that there is not elevator and the parking spaces were very tight. The seemed to almost discourage people from parking there.
I had breakfast at the M street cafe. The food was mediocre and the service very slow. The neighboring table waited 45 minutes for their food to come out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbantraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed in lovely Ordway suite and ordered room service for ourselves and our guests. The lady, I think her name was Karen, who took our order and delivered food to our room made us feel welcome and special! We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and even though we had notified hotel of this when reserving suite management did NOTHING to make us feel special. Would not have expected much, but some fresh flowers or a couple chocolate dipped strawberries or anything would have been nice. Epic fail to management. Huge win goes to Karen!! Thanks!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to celebrate Valentine's Day the day after and booked a suite at the St Paul Hotel. From our arrival on Saturday through checkout at noon on Sunday we were constantly met and assisted by a cheerful and helpful staff. Our suite was roomy and well appointed. After dinner we enjoyed drinks in the bar and listened to a great jazz combo performing in the lobby. We were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel and would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GumpWayzata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It had been about 15 years since I stayed at the St. Paul Hotel, so I was pleased to see that it was as grand as ever! The hotel lobby is gorgeous, with a very inviting lobby bar and fireplace seating. The rooms were gorgeous. We had a King Suite, and the four-poster bed was fabulous! It's an old property, so the rooms/bathrooms are not huge, but our suite was plenty large for my husband and me. We had a corner room with large windows which were drafty, but we didn't mind. We just cranked the heat and enjoyed the beautiful views of the parks, in which the trees were still lit up with thousands of Christmas lights to look like Weeping Willows. The staff is outstanding, and they will transport you at no cost (at least within in St. Paul) in their comfortable Cadillac. The St. Paul Grill is one of the very best restaurants in St. Paul, but the Market Café in the hotel basement is also outstanding. If you are looking for a special occasion getaway, the St. Paul Hotel is a perfect destination!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

What a wonderful review! Thank you. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Please don't wait another 15 years to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had my second stay this week.. Great staff and service both times. Staff friendly but professional. Lots of history in a good way. Restaurants were both very good. I liked the bar/restaurant on the main floor best. Good, interesting apps.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: £137 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing