We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel in St. Paul.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
812 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,537 helpful votes
“Classy hotel in St. Paul.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The St. Paul Hotel is a nice, classy hotel with friendly service and comfortable rooms. The service is very friendly from the door man to the check in area. The decor is classy with live lobby music being played in the evenings. Beds are comfortable and the mini bar hits the spot in those situations where you need something to tide you over until dinner. Nice location in downtown St. Paul with dinner options available in the area. Valets for parking as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderDelarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    178
    52
    27
    13
See reviews for
120
255
36
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at The Saint Paul Hotel for a long weekend to visit family in the twin cities. The room was beautiful. There were nice furnishings with classy elegance. Coffee and mini bar were well-appointed and always restocked daily. The staff were very friendly and polite. The valet was always polite and prompt. We felt that we received a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This place is classy! Door man with a top hat, bottle (not a plastic bottle) of water bedside, beautiful decor, and comfortable beds. This is by far the nicest hotel that I've stayed at in St. Paul. Next time I am in St Paul I will be sure to stay there.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DCA2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much! We look forward to having you as a guest on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed at The St. Paul Hotel numerous times on business and have always had a great experience. The staff is friendly and competent. The rooms and lobby are impeccable. The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area and relatively close to the sports arena. The St. Paul Grill located in the hotel is also a wonderful restaurant with attentive service and a varied menu. While The St. Paul Hotel hotel is reasonably priced, it is not a value hotel by any stretch of the imagination and the budget minded traveler may want to look elsewhere in the St. Paul downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonerlawyerTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I love the grand lobby. I had a view of the river from my room. Everything was clean and charming. I would have welcomed some coffee in the morning (the booklet said something about a coffee cart, but I could not find it. Fortunately, Starbucks is only two blocks away). Comfortable bed.

The service at the front desk was insanely slow checking out....I don't understand why! At one point, the clerk went to "make a photocopy" and was gone for ten minutes. Other than that, loved it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is one of those wonderful, classic hotels. You can tell that it has been around for a long time but it maintains its high standards and surroundings in a very consistent manner. They keep the property clean and up to date. The people working there all understand great customer service. This is a great choice when visiting St. Paul.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. The staff loves to read that they have been recognized, so thank you for taking the time to do it!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
400 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We're from the Twin Cities and recently stayed here for a special treat. We went to the High Tea that the hotel puts on, had dinner at The Saint Paul Grill and stayed the night. It was lovely, well kept, clean and the service was superb. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyAW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at The Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We love it when locals come to explore what we have to offer! Thank you for coming to Saint Paul. Make it a tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Paul
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Property: The Saint Paul Hotel
Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing