We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at this historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel because we were visiting family in the area. We did some research beforehand but we really couldn't find a better hotel and we were happy with the Saint Paul. It is a historic hotel and the lobby and the building have a nice atmosphere. Checkin was smooth, staff all efficient and friendly.
The rooms were fine, nice beds, quiet and clean. We had a room with a connecting door which is practical when you are traveling with children.
We used the fitness area and that was good. We had lunch once in the restaurant and it was good. The weekend it was very busy with all sorts of weddings going on in the hotel, but that gave it quite a nice festive touch. The days during the week it was quiet.
They have a valet parking service for your car and that worked out well. I did not have breakfast but my husband did and he did not think it was so great. But there are some great places right around the corner where you can have breakfast. We also tried the italian restaurant across the street and that was also good.
Our rooms did not have much of a view but I think it is nice to have a room overlooking the Mississippi river.

Room Tip: Probably a room overlooking St Paul and the river would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

stayed here recently. the food was very good. very friendly and professional staff. the hotel itself is well maintained and though an old building, the property looks great. the room was not the a bit small and the windows really needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stopea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Staying here is so awesome. Loved the lobby bar. Great service and a fun atmosphere. The rooms are large and comfy. Very nice beds with clean sheets and linens. Great bathrooms and nice shower. Fun to stay in the center of the city! Would highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Whitneytravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is very well located in the center of St. Paul. The valet parking is $20 and works pretty well. The restaurant onsite is very good and food at a reasonable price. The front desk is helpful and help can be obtained in the room quickly with mechanical or plumbing problems. The gym is small but adequate. The one problem we saw in the hotel was the internet which is slow, a bit unreliable, and is on an unprotected network.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is, indeed, a grand hotel and the staff is very helpful. BUT, be prepared to be nickeled and dimmed at every opportunity. For example, one wifi device may be used with very sub"standard" wifi speed. Want to use both your lap top and phone, add $12 per day. Want faster service, add more $$. There is in room coffee, but don't drink more than two cups, otherwise pay $3 a cup, and there is none in the lobby. The hotel seems to be a businessman's Mecca, so I guess they don't care, they're not paying. The hotel lobby is often used for "events" so forget a quiet place to sit and read, and the bar is tiny and expensive. I've stayed in many historic hotels in major metro areas, and while this is one of the physically nicest, I will NOT be back; prefer not to be nickeled and dimed!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mainer_Coasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My sister and I stayed here 2nights during the Irish Fair (Harriet Island). We had a wonderful time. Some things to note, the lobby staff was very patient with me as I was prepaying with cash and used my debit card for the incidentals, they do hold a rather large amount (can't remember maybe $100 a day) on your card for incidentals and refund it when you leave if you haven't used that much. The parking in their ramp was $20 a day- I could not find any info about parking on their website, it may be there but I didn't see it. it took us a few drive arounds to find the parking ramp because it's on the opposite side of building from the lobby. We had a nice room with two double beds. Well stocked wet bar, everything was very clean and organized. We used the fitness center and it was pretty decent, a couple of the cardio machines need repair but they had others and free weights (dumbbells). We ordered a room service breakfast which was wonderful. The price on everything in this Hotel is a bit high but that's what we pay for being in such a gorgeous historic hotel. I think it's worth it. We stayed on the 4th floor noise was never a problem and it's an easy walk to Harriet Island if not anywhere in downtown Saint Paul.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1976Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I spent one night at this beautiful hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Our experience was first rate, from the wonderful room overlooking the park to the welcoming note congratulating us on our anniversary. The staff was professional and helpful. With the Ordway Theater across the street and fun restaurants the Saint Paul Hotel is a perfect place to stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Paul Hotel

Address: 350 Market St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: £122 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked among the country's top hotels, with a ranking of 106th Best Hotel in the entire United States by Cond'e Nast Travel Magazine 2011 Readers' Choice Awards, The Saint Paul Hotel continues to provide luxurious accommodations and legendary service to visitors of the Twin Cities. The Saint Paul Hotel is known for its old-world charm and European inspired elegance, and accommodates the most discerning business and leisure travelers every day. Our great location, premier services, style and sophistication make The Saint Paul Hotel one of the Midwest's finest lodging experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing