We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpful Staff”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Syracuse
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Clean and spacious rooms. Better than expected based on other tripadvisor reviews. Nice little touches like elephant shaped towels. Breakfast buffet was ok. Staff gave a good recommendation for dinner and even printed out directions. Staff called back the shuttle after I just missed it. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bjorkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! Our staff appreciates your kind words about our hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the elephant towels! Also, it is great that you enjoyed our front desk staff, and that they could help you with your needs. Please feel free to stop back in anytime you're in the St. Paul area!

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    46
    43
    29
    14
See reviews for
48
23
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a Holiday Inn, nothing special. The staff is kind. The front desk staff is very friendly and service-minded. Rooms are big, clean, perfect for a business trip, 5 minutes from 3M's HQ. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don’t pic a room facing the freeway, if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richards_remarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are very glad that you overall enjoyed your stay! Being so close to 3M, we want to make sure to take care of our 3M guests, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. I will be sharing these comments with our staff throughout the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town with 3M!

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stumbled into what was most likely the high point of the MSP tourist season. Apparently there was a graduation and a bevy of sports tournaments with the end result being no rooms near the airport.
I booked probably the last room in the area for the night and when I arrived the lobby was packed! The other patrons were mostly jerks, cutting in line and screaming out commands, but the 2 young lady's on the desk were beyond professional!!
The hotel is an older property but they have updated the bathrooms, carpet, wallpaper. Short of spending $$$$$$ they have updated the property and kept the prices inline.
Overall a great property

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We value all of our guests' opinions, and I am glad that you were able to share yours!
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel. It is our goal to make sure that every guest has a great experience. I have shared your kind comments with my staff and they are thrilled that we were able to satisfy a guest. Also, our front desk and staff take pride in treating our guests in a friendly and professional matter, no matter what the circumstance. I am glad that our staff was able to stay professional in a high stress situation to ensure that you had a great stay.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in the St Paul area!

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is located in the east end of St. Paul. While this hotel is just off the Interstate, the staff does a excellent job of making you feel like you in a small town, with small town attention. The front desk staff is very friendly and actually makes you feel welcomed. The PM restaurant staff treats you like your in their home. Only downside they use the bar for meals after breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuttletrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We value every guests opinion, and I am glad that you took the time to share yours.
We take great pride in making our guests feel like their at home, whether it would be in the restaurant, front desk or other staff members and management. Our entire staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we made your stay very comfortable.
I do apologize for the breakfast being in our bar area. We were having another event in our normal breakfast area and had to rearrange.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion. I have shared this with our staff, and they are delighted that we have satisfied another guest!

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We just stayed at this hotel and had such great service. We would definitely stay here again. They are so close to everything, lots of places to eat and a short drive to the city or the shops in Woodbury

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the Holiday Inn St Paul East. We take great pride in pleasing our guests, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience. I have notified our staff of your experience, and we are all happy that you enjoyed your stay. You are more than welcome back the next time you are in the St Paul Area!

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We recently attended a banquet at your hotel and I must admit we had our reservations. First because we do not associate a Holiday Inn with banquets and events. Additionally there seems to be a pre-conceived notion that a Holiday Inn is a medium to lower quality establishment. Thank you, we were pleasantly surprised! The space was perfect, the food appeared to be made from scratch and tasted amazing, and the staff friendly and accommodating. I travel quite a bit and your facility was very clean and well kept. We will definitely use the Holiday Inn on 94 for our next session.

Thank you
Bill

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the facilities at the Holiday Inn St Paul East. When people think of the Holiday Inn, some think of just rooms and a restaurant. We are very glad that you enjoyed your experience in our banquet facilities and also our catering. We take great pride in our catering and banquet set up in addition to our restaurant and hotel. I have forwarded your comments to our sales department, banquet setup and our kitchen staff.
Thank you again for reviewing our facilities. It is comments like yours that help us grow as a hotel. We will see you next time you are here for an event!

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed over Thanksgiving very few guest, counted 23 cars total in the lot, horrible horrible service. Lack of linens being replenished, room was not even picked up one day. Will not be back that's for certain.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAKTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced while at our hotel. I have let housekeeping know about the issues with your room being refreshed and not having enough linen. Also, if you can respond to this message, I would be happy to discuss a resolution to this matter and more information on the issues that you had.
Once again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Paul H.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Paul hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Paul
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 2201 Burns Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55119-6667 (Formerly Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area))
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Paul-i94-East (3m Area) Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing