We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 8 February 2007

I came here many times because my brother and his gf also go here so i come here more then any hotel because you get what you pay for, i came here with friend on superbowl 2006 and there was no one there this hotel is huge and we were really the only ones there the parking lot was empty except a few cars and us, so we had the whole place to ourselves, i payed using name your price and got it for super cheap 35 bucks! and this hotel has a 24 hour pool hottub and game room also a fitness room which is why i come here a lot,free wireless internet and free contiinental breakfast, also a nice bar and restaurant the bar has karoke fridays and saturdays and thats when the hotels packed and i mean parking lot full packed, they also have a gift/snack store.Rooms are always clean and hotel is in good shape overall.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hotelvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2007

The beds are fabulous! In general the hotel is very comfortable even though it is older and everything is not in pristine condition. But the staff is the best and they go out of thier way to correct any problem areas. Nice place for the price.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank Goldiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

My husband and I booked the Holiday Inn St. Paul East last weekend and were very disappointed by the experience. We generally love Holiday Inn and we are Priority Club members, but this particular hotel has problems. When we arrived, they had not set aside a room for us and they were pretty busy, so even though we had reserved a room with a king bed and a couch, we ended up with a full size bed and a super cramped room. We were told we were lucky to even get that, and it took way too long for us to check in. The receptionist didn't seem to care that we had two young children in a room the size of a closet. Worse still, when we got to the room it was sweltering hot, and the windows don't open in the rooms. We tried to put the air conditioning on it's highest level and found that the air didn't work either. It was awful that night with the heat in the room, being cramped in a small bed, and we felt clausterphobic in the small room.

The pool area used to be nice, but is now very run down. There is paint chipping off in the hot tub, and the pool is VERY, VERY cold. The chlorine levels in the hot tub were so high that my eyes burned just sitting in there.

We attempted to order room service at 9:50 (the restaurant closes at 10) but we were told that it was closed after being unable to reach them for 10 minutes. I have a feeling that they intentionally put us on hold so they could avoid taking our order.

There are three elevators in the hotel, and one of them wouldn't allow us to get to our floor. We were told it had been broken for several days and that the hotel didn't want to have to pay to get it fixed.

We ended up getting a full refund after talking to the front desk in the morning. The manager was somehow unavailable, and there was a line at the front desk of people who were not very happy. We felt bad for the staff in the morning because of all of the unhappy people.

There are plenty of hotel choices in the St. Paul area. Pick somewhere else to stay. We were told there is a very nice Hilton down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cassandval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2006

My dad and I went to visit my brother in Minneapolis and found a good package at this hotel. The room was nice, good space, clean. The hotel was nice too. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and clean. The only thing that we regretted was than being Minneapolis such a beautiful city, and having great weather when we went (second week of June) there was not pubic transportation or access to it from the Hotel. The only transportation was to 3M headquarters (right in front of the hotel) in that sense it would have been nice to stay in downtown or closer to Minneapolis. But other than that we were very impressed with the city, it's just gorgeous!!! Rent a car, so you can go visit all the lakes and all the beautiful places the city has to offer. Great food too!
There was a wedding on Saturday night but it wasn't a problem at all.

1  Thank scubagirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, CA
13
Reviewed 16 February 2006

The staff was great. Everyone was very helpful and welcoming. The carpet and furnitures looked new, it had the odor of freshly laid carpet. Hotel is in decent shape. The kids had a great time in the pool/game room. They need more pool sticks though.
Restaurant/Lounge could use more items on the menu, the food was satisfying. The Continental Breakfast was more than what I had expected it to be. The rooms were very clean and met my expectations for a Holiday Inn. My family had a great time. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sand Diego, CA
11
Reviewed 17 November 2005

The location is convenient- right off of the major interstate 94. The lobby was big and clean- we were welcomed warmly upon arrival. Rooms were good sized and clean as well. We loved the 24 hour pool and hot tub. Lounge was fun at night too- good atmosphere. The price was good- great value that Holiday Inns are known for. I would recommend this hotel to the business person or vacationer.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2005

This hotel needs a lot of updating and a good cleaning. There was garbage in the parking lot area. I would not recommend this hotel unless you can get a really good deal. ( the breakfast stinks)

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shopperlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#9 of 16 in Saint Paul
325 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
4 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
5 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 2201 Burns Ave, Saint Paul, MN 55119-6667 (Formerly Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area))
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Paul
Price Range: £73 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn St Paul East is a full service hotel that fits the needs of many travelers. Whether you are here for 3M, business meetings or leisurely travel, the Holiday Inn St Paul East will fit your needs. The Holiday Inn St Paul East offers a swimming pool, whirlpool, game room, fitness center, shuttle service within 10 miles (based on availability), a restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner with room service and much more! Our restaurant is called McKnight's Bar and Grill, and we have a wide variety on our great menu! Come and enjoy the great amenities and comfortable rooms at the Holiday Inn St Paul East! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Paul-i94-East (3m Area) Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing