We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas week to visit family in the Twin Cities area. It was perfect. Close to both St. Paul and Minneapolis. It isn't a luxury hotel. But it was very nice and I felt good value of the money.

It comes with a breakfast. Not a great breakfast. The only protein is hard boiled eggs. But that was fine with me.

It had covered parking which helped keep the car clear of snow overnight.

The free wifi is plenty fast enough.

The room was spacious clean and quiet. It was a bit on the warm side, 67 degrees. I could not figure out how to make it lower.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankinwaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    177
    92
    53
    51
See reviews for
230
98
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FERGUS FALLS
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The people at the hotel were wonderful, service was great, had a great time at the pool with my grown children. Some of the hotel is under construction with upgrading of space. It is a lovely facility built into the old train depot. It is centrally located to this area but just far enough off the highway to not hear any of the noise. I enjoyed my stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was an excellent stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel in this area and were extremely pleased. It is such an interesting building--quite unique. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and welcoming, and were knowledgeable about the building's past as part of the railroad. The breakfast was good. We also appreciated the later (noon) check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetrips, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate all our reviews good and bad and welcome each review. We are glade you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will try us again in the future!

We are glade to announce that our renovation will be done by the end of February and we will have new chairs, curtains, 40 inch Televisions’ and microwaves and refrigerators in all of our rooms! Plus we didn’t stop there, with addition of our new elevator, upgrade bar, breakfast and meeting room space, we are very excited for 2014!

We hope to see you again soon and share with you all of our changes,

Regards,

James Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I booked this hotel because of its (relative) proximity to Macalaster College, but in the end it didn't seem that much closer than staying in downtown St. Paul or near the airport and it was in an industrial park. I can't say I much enjoyed our stay there, although it certainly had nothing to do with the staff, as they were all very polite. It's just an odd place. Many of the rooms, ours included, had no window to the outdoors, instead facing the inner courtyard. Furnishings were old, and although all the rooms were non-smoking, our room had definitely been a smoking room and was still redolent of smokers past. Heating/cooling was controlled centrally, and we had to ask twice about getting fresh air in the room. Breakfast was standard Best Western fare; the 'bar' /'cafe downstairs had microwaved food and limited drink selection. At least it was inexpensive, and the bartender was very pleasant. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrinnellParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetrips, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate all our reviews good and bad and welcome each review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and do hope that you will try us again in the future. In regard to your review I would like to point out a few things for you to consider the next time you’re in the area. The first one is proximity to the college. We are only 3 miles from Macalaster College whereas downtown St. Paul with traffic is about a 15- 20 minutes trip, plus we do offer free shuttle service to all the area colleges within a 5 mile radius. As for our rooms I am happy to mention that by the end of February we will have new chairs, curtains, 40 inch Televisions’ and microwaves and refrigerators in all of our rooms! Our heating and cooling system is the pretty much the same as Downtown St. Paul hotels that were built in the 1980’s and you can control the air up to 75 degrees and as low as 65 degrees. Plus we do have the ability to change that at the front desk should one wish.

As for our food we will be upgrading our breakfast this year to include warm items such as scrambled eggs, bacon, gravy etc., plus keeping our current waffle makers that guest absolutely love.

If you choose to stay with us again and are looking for a room with a better view talk to the guest service agent making the reservation or please don’t hesitate to ask for me and ask to stay in one of our courtyard view rooms that over looks the old water tower and train cart, the view is amazing and one that allows for more sun then anywhere else.

Again I apologize that you didn’t like your stay, and am happy that the staff was there for you when you needed it. I do sincerely hope you give us another chance.

Regards,

James Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very accommodating staff at front desk. Room is clean and comfortable. Wished weekend breakfast hours were more sleep-in friendly, it would be nice if the breakfast went until 10:30 a.m. on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Colan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetrips, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review and even more of a thank you for staying with us! We were glad to have you and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Regards,

James Gray
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peter, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The people taking care of guests at Best Western Bandana Square, Saint Paul, MN are top notch in their care and consideration. I would recommend staying with Best Western when traveling to the Saint Paul area. The atmosphere is quaint and has unique structural characteristics that bring in that ingredient that is rare to find.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dayna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetrips, General Manager at Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate all our reviews good and bad and welcome each review. We are glade you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will try us again in the future!

We are glade to announce that our renovation will be done by the end of February and we will have new chairs, curtains, 40 inch Televisions’ and microwaves and refrigerators in all of our rooms! Plus we didn’t stop there, with addition of our new elevator, upgrade bar, breakfast and meeting room space, we are very excited for 2014!

We hope to see you again soon and share with you all of our changes,

Regards,

James Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My family of four stayed here over the Thanksgiving weekend. We chose it due to the convenient location between St.Paul and Minneapolis and the super deal we found on Hotwire. It is located in an industrial park, a little off the beaten track, but nice, safe, and quiet with no freeway traffic noise at all. Very convenient to State Fairgrounds, Como Park and Zoo, HarMar Mall, Rosedale Mall area. The building used to be a train repair depot and, when you walk in the front door, you will see railroad tracks leading into the building. Front desk staff were helpful and friendly. We requested a room away from the pool and not a pet room. We were assigned a second floor room that was huge - an extra section for us to spread out and enjoy. We were thankful for that! Room included a fridge and microwave besides comfy chair and ottoman and two beds. Those were super comfy with awesome pillows, linens were bright white which is important to all of us. Sink and vanity were located outside of the shower and toilet, which makes for a faster exit in the morning. Breakfast was offered in the little station - yogurt, hot oatmeal, cereals, donuts, muffins, toast, eggs, juice, coffee, tea (waffle maker out of order, but so many other items that was not an issue). Pool was clean, kiddy pool a nice idea to have, hot tub was great. Did not use the sauna. All in all, we will definitely stay here again. Appreciated the location and the fact it is very different from the usual boxy rooms with central halls. This place has many different areas with windy halls, loved the original wooden beams that add to the decor and original areas of brickwork with all the history. What a great idea to renovate and recycle this place!

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor overlooked the breakfast "station" and was very quiet with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenskiMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 16 in Saint Paul
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Address: 1010 Bandana Blvd W, Saint Paul, MN 55108-5107 (Formerly Best Western Plus Bandana Square)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bandana Square Hotel Saint Paul
Bandana Square Best Western
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing