We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too old building to be comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
A TripAdvisor Member
“too old building to be comfort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I would definitely not recommend to any one or stay there next time. Most of amenity and breakfast are below expectations and very far away from any Minnesota's amusements and shopping mall. Without help of GPS most of people would have hard time to finding the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetrips, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

We appreciate all our reviews good and bad and welcome each review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and do hope that you will try us again in the future. In regard to your review I would like to point out a few things for you to consider the next time you’re in the area. The first one is proximity to the malls and Minnesota’s amusements. We are only 3 miles from Rosedale shopping mall Minnesota’s 2nd most visited mall behind the Mall of America. Como Zoo, Conservatory, Children’s Museum, and History Museum are all with in 5 miles or less from the hotel.

Also as I am sure you are aware we are going through renovations at this time. Once we complete the renovations we will also be adding a warm items and upgrading our breakfast!

I do hope that you will give us a chance again in the future.

Regards,

James G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    165
    86
    50
    45
See reviews for
207
96
44
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I booked this hotel for an extended stay between house closings. It is pet friendly and was a great location. Nisha at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and larger than normal. It would have been nice to have a restaurant on site.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms do not have windows to the outside. There isn't much to see outside since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Christmas week to visit family in the Twin Cities area. It was perfect. Close to both St. Paul and Minneapolis. It isn't a luxury hotel. But it was very nice and I felt good value of the money.

It comes with a breakfast. Not a great breakfast. The only protein is hard boiled eggs. But that was fine with me.

It had covered parking which helped keep the car clear of snow overnight.

The free wifi is plenty fast enough.

The room was spacious clean and quiet. It was a bit on the warm side, 67 degrees. I could not figure out how to make it lower.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankinwaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FERGUS FALLS
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The people at the hotel were wonderful, service was great, had a great time at the pool with my grown children. Some of the hotel is under construction with upgrading of space. It is a lovely facility built into the old train depot. It is centrally located to this area but just far enough off the highway to not hear any of the noise. I enjoyed my stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was an excellent stay. We needed a pet friendly hotel in this area and were extremely pleased. It is such an interesting building--quite unique. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and welcoming, and were knowledgeable about the building's past as part of the railroad. The breakfast was good. We also appreciated the later (noon) check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetrips, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate all our reviews good and bad and welcome each review. We are glade you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will try us again in the future!

We are glade to announce that our renovation will be done by the end of February and we will have new chairs, curtains, 40 inch Televisions’ and microwaves and refrigerators in all of our rooms! Plus we didn’t stop there, with addition of our new elevator, upgrade bar, breakfast and meeting room space, we are very excited for 2014!

We hope to see you again soon and share with you all of our changes,

Regards,

James Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I booked this hotel because of its (relative) proximity to Macalaster College, but in the end it didn't seem that much closer than staying in downtown St. Paul or near the airport and it was in an industrial park. I can't say I much enjoyed our stay there, although it certainly had nothing to do with the staff, as they were all very polite. It's just an odd place. Many of the rooms, ours included, had no window to the outdoors, instead facing the inner courtyard. Furnishings were old, and although all the rooms were non-smoking, our room had definitely been a smoking room and was still redolent of smokers past. Heating/cooling was controlled centrally, and we had to ask twice about getting fresh air in the room. Breakfast was standard Best Western fare; the 'bar' /'cafe downstairs had microwaved food and limited drink selection. At least it was inexpensive, and the bartender was very pleasant. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrinnellParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetrips, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate all our reviews good and bad and welcome each review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and do hope that you will try us again in the future. In regard to your review I would like to point out a few things for you to consider the next time you’re in the area. The first one is proximity to the college. We are only 3 miles from Macalaster College whereas downtown St. Paul with traffic is about a 15- 20 minutes trip, plus we do offer free shuttle service to all the area colleges within a 5 mile radius. As for our rooms I am happy to mention that by the end of February we will have new chairs, curtains, 40 inch Televisions’ and microwaves and refrigerators in all of our rooms! Our heating and cooling system is the pretty much the same as Downtown St. Paul hotels that were built in the 1980’s and you can control the air up to 75 degrees and as low as 65 degrees. Plus we do have the ability to change that at the front desk should one wish.

As for our food we will be upgrading our breakfast this year to include warm items such as scrambled eggs, bacon, gravy etc., plus keeping our current waffle makers that guest absolutely love.

If you choose to stay with us again and are looking for a room with a better view talk to the guest service agent making the reservation or please don’t hesitate to ask for me and ask to stay in one of our courtyard view rooms that over looks the old water tower and train cart, the view is amazing and one that allows for more sun then anywhere else.

Again I apologize that you didn’t like your stay, and am happy that the staff was there for you when you needed it. I do sincerely hope you give us another chance.

Regards,

James Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very accommodating staff at front desk. Room is clean and comfortable. Wished weekend breakfast hours were more sleep-in friendly, it would be nice if the breakfast went until 10:30 a.m. on Saturdays and Sundays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Colan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovetrips, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review and even more of a thank you for staying with us! We were glad to have you and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Regards,

James Gray
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
1.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
7.4 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel
Address: 1010 Bandana Blvd W, Saint Paul, MN 55108-5107 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Bandana Square)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bandana Square Hotel Saint Paul
Bandana Square Best Western
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing