We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay and will return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay and will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were visiting family in St Paul and have a small dog. The pet fee is very reasonable. We found the staff greeted us every time we encountered them. Parking is free and plentiful which isn't always true in major cities. The atmosphere of the old train station was wonderful and the grounds were enjoyable for walking. We found the breakfast to be generous and delicious. The staff kept a close eye on the breakfast so nothing was empty. We had two beds and both were comfortable. The only complaint is that the walls are a little thin. We didn't have loud neighbors so it wasn't a problem. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coldermom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    164
    86
    49
    44
See reviews for
200
96
44
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosendale, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We were looking forward to spending the evening at this unique hotel (former train station) while in town visiting family. Upon arrival, the key cards did not work and needed to be exchanged just to get into our room. The type of room we reserved was not available, so they placed us into a suite. You'd think a suite would be much nicer than a room with two beds. It was not. First, we wanted a non-smoking room; the suite smelled of smoke. There was only one bed in the suite, so one person had to sleep on a pull-out sofa. No pillows were in the room for the pull-out. He did not sleep well during the night due to the bars felt through the matress. Neither TV had a working remote. One TV was difficult to turn on because the ON button was shoved into the TV set; you needed to put your finger inside the TV set to get to the plastic button. One of the sliding closet doors was missing. It was a total party room, and wear and tear was evident. When our disappointment was shared at check-out, the front desk clerk cited the cost of the suite we were placed in and that we only had to pay the amount for the 2-bed room we had reserved. We expected two beds, not an uncomfortable pull-out couch. Also, it's not like we brought a bunch of beverages for the wet bar and friends to actually make use out of the room. She was polite but clearly not interested in making right the disappointments in our visit. When reservations are made, the room you reserved should be available upon your arrival. If an upgrade is going to happen, make sure the room is equal or better than the one reserved. We will definitely think twice before spending a night at this hotel again, simply because our concerns were brushed off.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelor1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salesbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the problems that you had during your most recent stay. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, good and bad, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our service and our accommodations.

We have steps and procedures in place and even as unfortunate as the experience was we had the best of intentions of trying to provide the best customer services to you and your family. Please accept my apologies and know that we will rectify the issues that you mentioned.

Again On behalf of the hotel and the ownership please accept my apologies and I would love to talk to you more about what happened and see if there is anything else I can do for you. Please reach out to the hotel and ask for the General Manager and I look forward to speaking to you

Regards,

James Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

Very badly managed. Incredibly poor service. They would not respond to my email's. Signed contracts were not honored and they lied about it all to me. There was also and incredible lack of communication between employees. We returned to the hotel after the wedding to find police chasing down drug dealers in the parking lot as I had to try and dodge my car around to keep them from running into me. Prostitutes working rooms. I would not have believed it if I would not have seen it with my own eyes. Staff who were not there at the time or could not be reached, told me it never happened.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HDtraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salesbw, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the problems that you had during your most recent stay. I’m sorry your experience was not everything you had hoped for while staying at the Best Western Bandana Square. We pride ourselves on taking care of our guests and certainly hoped your stay would be a pleasant one. Based on the contract that we had for your event we did follow it to every detail. However the shuttle was not listed on the contract that we had, but to try and go above and beyond, we did have our driver and shuttle prepared and ready during the time frame you stated you needed it, and it was utilized by your guests.

In regards to the comments of police, drug dealers and prostitution, we spoke to the police department who stated that, our shuttle driver is the one who called the police as she saw some people down the street that appeared to be obstructing traffic.

Our clientele is largely based of corporate travelers and what you described is not the type of activities we have ever had. Once again, I’m truly sorry your experience with us was not a pleasurable one. We do try our best to assure every guest enjoys their stay with us.

Should you wish to talk to me more about it I would be more then happy to hear from you.

Regards,

James Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

What a dump! The entire hotel lobby, pool area, and rooms smelled musty and stale. F The room needed upgrading and had no amenities except Wi-Fi. For the price we paid, we should have at least had a microwave and refrigerator. The mattress sagged in the middle and if you turned over, you'd roll to the middle. It was MN State Fair time and they had a complimentary shuttle to and from fairgrounds. We were told the last shuttle was at 11 pm. We arrived at the shuttle lot at 10:30 were left stranded. When we complained to the manager, all she said was, she could not explain it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Very nice clean rooms. Pool area was nice and the swimming was good for all ages. Very close to Como Park. There were a couple of disappointments. I booked two rooms at the same time thinking we would have our rooms close together but when we checked in were told we couldn't even be on the same floor. This made it very difficult as we were traveling with my daughter and her 4 children and we wanted to be close by to help her out. The other disappointment was how employees were in such a hurry to clean up the breakfast area right at 9:30am. This is the first place I have ever stayed where they start cleaning up the area while guests are still trying to make their breakfast. I watched a hotel employee dump out cups of waffel batter while guests were waiting their turn to make waffels. This hotel does not have dining facilities on the property so it would have been nice to be able to take my grandchildren for breakfast and not have to rush around grabbing for our food before a hotel employee, who was determined to close down the area, get rid of the food that I'm sure they just threw away. This happened both days and it was two different employees being rude to guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation2010002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

The staff is rude, the place is not clean and it is overpriced for the dump that it is. The pool is cold and the hot tub does not work because they are always waiting for a part that never comes. Don't waste your time or money on this dump!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassy3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

Nice hotel - we liked the idea that it used to be a train station - liked the beams on the ceiling - liked ;the history of the hotel. Great continental breakfast - comfortable beds. Very close to the State Fair which we will again stay at to attend the Minnesota State Fair in August. I am glad we didn't pay attention to some reviews - we really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jackieAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
1.7 mi away
Days Inn ST. Paul-Minneapolis-Midway
7.4 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#4 of 16 in Saint Paul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capitol Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel
Address: 1010 Bandana Blvd W, Saint Paul, MN 55108-5107 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Bandana Square)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Como Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bandana Square Hotel Saint Paul
Bandana Square Best Western
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing