We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trains, construction and rude staff!!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savage
Edgeley
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Trains, construction and rude staff!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This hotel should not be apart of Choice Privileges! The room was small, cigarette burns in the sheets, the door lock was broken, toilet didn't flush, the front desk staff was rude, the breakfast area was dirty and not stocked well. To top things off, the front desk charged the wrong card (reserved the room on one card and asked them to charge another card when we checked out). The parking spaces are small and few. Especially when there is vehicles that look like they have been parked there for years, full of junk. The hotel is close to the train tracks and you hear them all night long if you get a room facing the street. Also, major street construction makes it hard to even get to the hotel. I read previous reviews and figured that it would do for an overnite stop after the Titans-Vikings game. I wish that I would have looked more. Please, this hotel needs major work to be up to Choice Hotels expectations!! Keep looking and don't stay here. I regret it.

Room Tip: Away from the street, if there is a good room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    25
    13
    26
    38
See reviews for
39
28
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glidden, Iowa, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I have never had a bad stay with Choice Privileges before but this hotel puts it to shame. First off the GPS couldn't find the place, the guy on the phone directed us the wrong direction and then when we got there no one was there to check us or the two families ahead ouf us in. Once checked in, no one picked up the phone at front desk, so went back down and they guy was out having a smoke. Pool was FREEZING! Nice whirlpool. Once settled in for the night and found old blood on the bathroom floor! OSHA would have a hey day!! Beds sagged to middle and air on high didn't keep it cool enough. (it was 20º outside). Breakfast-Biscuits were hard, gravy was awful otherwise it was fine.Never again!! We are trying priceline next time!!

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Savage hotels

Quincy, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Air conditioner didn't work in my room or another guest's room that I was traveling with. Could hear water running loudly when other guests in different rooms were using their shower. Could hear conversations in next room (thin walls, no insulation). Bathroom had water damage. No fan in the bathroom, so I would guess mold was hiding out somewhere in there. Maintenance brought a fridge up since our room didn't have one and didn't bother to knock before entering with it. Hot tub took two hours to fill...joke to use. Bed was lumpy and uncomftorable. Breakfast was good. Didn't swim. Situated next to the train tracks so expect to hear the train in the middle of the night. Didn't see any bugs. Wifi was fine. Customer service was good what little I dealt with them. This hotel needs a remodel and cleaning...keep driving.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmf107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I wish I'd started using Tripadvisor before I booked this place. Our usual place in Bloomington was booked and we wanted a hot tub pet-friendly room not too far from the Twin Cities. The place looked decent on the website but that's about where the niceness ended.

Pulling into the hotel parking lot, my wife and I both had the same impression: is this the right place? The exterior looked dated and a bit dirty, to be honest. I've read many of the other reviews about poor service but surprisingly, our front desk representatives were quite helpful. We didn't ask for a whole lot, however. Check-in was uneventful.

Shortly after check-in, we found our hot tub didn't work. There was a sign on the tub apologizing for the inconvenience. I booked online and didn't expect any issues as I've never had any with Choicehotels.com in the past. This was a first and I haven't had any similar issues since.

We called the front desk, who promptly sent over a maintenance man. His response was something to the effect of "your tub's broken". Captain Obvious also told us that a part was on order. When we asked how long it would be, he said two weeks. My wife called the front desk and we at least had the rate reduced to a non-hot tub room rate.

As others have stated, the security door was non-functional and the linens were downright scary. We promptly checked out the next day and ended up staying somewhere else for the next two days. This was one of two Quality Inns we've stayed at. Our local hotel in Sheboygan, WI is actually pretty nice, but it started out as Comfort Suites (just recently changed maybe a year ago). If this is the caliber of hotels that Quality Inn tolerates, I'll be spending my cash elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I booked this room before i had read the online reviews, after reading the reviews i was a little scared of what i might discover when my family visited this hotel in August. I had troubles from the start with the staff. I called the hotel twice a few days before my reservation to confirm and find out some information before i arrived, i was told to call back because the front desk was really busy. I called again to cancel a double reservation that i booked and the front desk agent said i will put it in for you and then hung up on me, i call back and said i think we were disconnected i was trtying to cancel my reservation, the fda agent replied no i hung up on you cause im really busy trying to start breakfast. The situation could have been handled differently i only found a a few staff members that were nice. The rooms were actually comfortable i had no problems, hotel appearence was nice, breakfast was good. The only other problem i had was the pool was really cloudy and had some sort of thick film over the top so i didnt let the kids swim. I really do think that if the hotel staff was trained a little better and had better costomer service skills this place would be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The room was clean enough (we were in a suite), but the utter ineptitude of the front desk staff was amazing. We checked in at around 7 am (and we'd let them know we'd be late), only to be told to wait at the desk while the clerk put breakfast out (the sign on the door said breakfast began at 6 am, and there wasn't a soul stirring in the place). She then could not figure out how to check me in and I waited another 20 minutes until the day staff arrived to fix the mess. At the end of the stay, I discovered they'd billed my credit card incorrectly as well. Not worth the hassle at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj7341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I've come to realize that there is a wide variation in the quality at Quality Inns. Being in the Twin Cities for a business meeting took me to this Quality Inn, primarily driven by the price of $65 per night. The room was small but clean. The bedding was old, and the air conditioning unit's controls did not work. The "fitness center" was a joke, with an old treadmill which did not work and a rickety stationary bike that was wobbly. If all you want is a place to sleep and go at a cheap price, this place will get you by. Beyond that, keep looking!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsyverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savage
2.5 mi away
LivINN Hotel Minneapolis South / Burnsville
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Burnsville
3.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Nicollet Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Bloomington West
Days Inn Bloomington West
#40 of 42 in Bloomington
1,016 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Burnsville / Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 4601 W. Hwy 13, Savage, MN 55378-1365 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Savage
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn(R) Hotel - Savage, MN is conveniently located off State Highway 13, with easy access to Interstate 35W or 169. Our guests enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast, featuring Belgian waffles & biscuits with sausage gravy, cereal & fresh fruit daily. Our hotel features free wireless high-speed internet, free local calls, free 24-hour coffee and tea in the lobby, an indoor heated pool and hot tub. This Savage, MN hotel provides business travelers with modern conveniences including a business center, speakerphones, and access to copy/printer and fax services. All guest rooms include coffee makers, iron & board, hair dryers, room-safe, refrigerators and microwaves. We offer guest laundry facilities. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. For special occasions, two-room whirlpool suites are an excellent option. Pets are welcome with a nightly fee and deposit. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, make the Quality Inn Hotel your home away from home when visiting the Savage and Twin Cities area. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Savage
Comfort Inn Savage
Savage Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing