We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta Love Lambs”
Review of Lamb's Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schroeder
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lamb's Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gotta Love Lambs”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We have been tent camping at Lambs over the last 20 years. Not every year but probably at least a dozen times. Maybe 5 different sites. Enjoyed them all. The walk in lakeshore spots are our favorites. Short walkin on a trail from the car so you need to transport a short distance. Bathrooms and showers are ok. It's camping, not the Ritz. :>)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeguy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    22
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in campsite #5. It's a drive-in camp site with the tent site right there (some of the spots appear to be very pretty, but not good for a family who is car camping since you need to haul all your gear down a small trail). I almost wanted to rate this review "average" but . . . read further.

Good Points:
# 5 was perfect for our family of kids ages 4 & 8 plus dog. There is a really short path (like 15 feet) down to a rocky beach. A huge rock formation creates a small, almost private bay. Kids had fun climbing on the rocks and no real scary drop offs.

The sound of the waves and the relatively cool weather on summer nights made for fantastic sleeping.

Not much traffic going by our site and the campground was peaceful at night.

Gorgeous and huge stretch of beach. Bring your Teva sandals though. Rocks = ouch!

Laid back camping neighbors who were understanding about our youthful labrador occasionally "greeting" them.

A mix of sun and shade at our camp spot.

Negative points:

Proximity to toilets. I don't mind walking a bit for a hot shower, but it would be nice to have a few more outhouses or toilets. I ended up relying on my REI toilet gizmo things (bought when I was pregnant and camping in bear country). It was a fairly long hike to a toilet from our site.

Bathroom/Showers: the main bathroom and shower facility could use a major overhaul. I would gladly pay $5 more a night (and gathering from the reviews, I think others would too) for better bath facilities and perhaps more of them. Lamb's Resort should consider the return on investment of this kind of upgrade.

In summary, I would really only stay here again if I was right on the water otherwise the state parks would be a better option.

Room Tip: Ask about proximity to lake and (if you have small children) whether they can climb down on the rock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazen, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Some of the sites and the location on the lake is nice. BUT, the bath house is DISGUSTING! They need to tear it down (I think it's been there since they first opened), and start over! It pretty much ruins the experience. One of the other campers I talked to who had been there before said the bath house is better now than it used to be...YIKES!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at Lambs last week, and camped on the shore. They have some of the most amazing veiws of the lake, and the sounds of the waves crashing at night are like a lullaby! The grounds are well kept, bathrooms are clean and the showers are a nice treat with lots of hot water.

The beach is great for rock hunting, and the Cross River is a great spot to see Eagles looking for fish. A few things to keep in mind while camping in the lake spots are, pack light, brining a lot of gear and supplies is hard work when you have to go up & down the hillside to get to the sites, bring a camping stove, there are no grates for the fire pits, so cooking on the fire is difficult at best.

This was a great trip for all of us, exploring the shore, hiking, or just pulling a chair on the rocks in the morning to watch the sun come up...it was so peaceful, my 13 year old daughter even woke up to watch the sun come up and pulled her chair next to me on the rocks. Priceless moments!

See you next year!

Room Tip: Site 54 aka "OS" is the biggest and the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank organicjellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
385 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

if you can get a spot on the lake...you will love it...we have been camping here for years and its one of our favorite spots. Note we are referring to camping we have not stayed in cabins

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Schus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The wife and I camped at Lambs Resort for our anniversary trip. We loved our camp spot eight out on the lake by the big rocks. wasnt to close to other spots and scenery is great. walked the trails up to the falls and visited the Gooseberry falls also.
plan on getting cabin 1 or 2 next time right on the falls :)

Room Tip: Cabins 1 and 2 are right on the falls... and the beach is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justin661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

if you like a old shower, 2 stalls, narrow, dirty, old and needing upgrade, blood on sinks, and always dirty, camp area to close to each other, then this is the camping you would like. there was probably 6 sites inside were nice, and all the water/beach sites nice.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank nick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schroeder
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
10.9 mi away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
3.6 mi away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Silver Bay
6.4 mi away
Surfside on Lake Superior
0.5 mi away
Superior Ridge Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb's Resort

Property: Lamb's Resort
Address: Hwy. 61, Lamb's Way, PO Box 415, Schroeder, MN 55613-0415
Region: United States > Minnesota > Schroeder
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Schroeder
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Lamb`s Hotel Schroeder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing