We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
Nearby Hotels
US$87
US$85
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
175
81
33
31
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
81
33
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slideskiddie poolwafflesbreakfast was deliciousroom was cleanstaff was friendlycanterbury parkhot chocolategreat place to staywould stay againsausagenice poollobby areanice stayrenaissance festivalparking lotmystic lake casino
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Reading some of the reviews, I was nervous about what we would find when we arrived. After we left I was nervous about revealing this hidden gem to the masses! Clearly they are in the middle of some major renovations, because our room was brand spanking new and in perfect condition. The bathroom was immaculate and the beds were very comfortable. I liked having the thermostat give me the option of having the fan running for ambient noise all night.

The pool was warm and the waterslide was great fun. There is even a little slide into the toddler pool which my kids enjoyed. The hot tub is large and nice, and there is even a sauna, although we didn't try it.

The front desk staff was helpful and patient, and gave me a break when I made a mistake on my reservation.

Breakfast was nice, although there was no meat or scrambled eggs. They did have the typical waffle maker, but also a pancake maker which I thought was unique. Oatmeal, hardboiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, bagels, mini muffins, toast, juice, coffee and milk rounded out the buffet.

A little awkward getting into and out of the parking lot, but not a huge deal. The hotel is just a couple blocks from Canterbury and a couple miles from Valleyfair. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room- I'm not sure if they are all done yet or not?
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear aspalm,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are completely refreshing our hotel! We should be finished by the end of June. We pride ourselves on our customer service and cleanliness of our rooms. Our refreshed rooms will look even more snazzy with the new furniture, bed lines, granite countertops and new lighting! Look us up next time your passing through and we will make sure to get you into a completely refreshed room!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel during Memorial weekend. Couldn't ask for a better experience! They kept the pool open later than expected, gave us a new key when ours got lost, and allowed us to party in our room 'til the early morning. Exactly what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Sean S.,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I am happy to hear you had such a great time! Our pool area is very nice. Children AND adults love to hang out have a blast in our Splash Bay Adventure! Please give us a ring next time your passing through!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a very good experience at this property. Front desk staff quickly accommodated a ground floor room request upon checkin. Room was clean, although it could use a refurb soon. We did not use the pool nor did we eat breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank GmaZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear GmaZ54,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We pride ourselves on our customer service and cleanliness of our rooms so thank you for noticing! We are currently remodeling our entire property!! It will be a huge difference and it will look fabulous! Please call us next time your passing by Shakopee we would love to have you as our guest again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel was fine except the parking area was completely dark and there was no lighting anywhere outside. Even the sign on the building was dark. Missed the hotel on the first drive by and going to and from the car was a little nerve wracking with the complete darkness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank BruceK753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Bruce K,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We have recently updated our lighting on the exterior of our building and also have revamped our landscaping. You will have to stop by and take a look - you can see us from afar! Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We travel a lot and have stayed at many different hotels, other Americinns included and this was the worse. We arrived to check in at 8:45pm with 2 crabby kids. When we got there we were told we could not check in unless we went and put the cash for the room back on to some sort of card. We even said we could give a $100 extra cash deposit which has never been an issue. The lady at the front desk said that was not an option. We had to drive more than 20 miles to find a place to load a debit card and wait 20 more minutes for processing. By the time we checked in it was almost 930pm. Then
we were given the wrong room. No one apologized or offered a discount or anything for the hassle. Just a "oh heres your new room" Our new room was dirty. There were Crumbs under all the furniture for our 1 year old to find and try to eat. It looked as if they vacuumed down the middle of the room but didn't want to do along the wall or anywhere else. By this point I had a migraine and was done dealing with the front desk. So we kept our dirty room. Pool was cold. Breakfast questionable. If housekeeping actually took the time to do what they are paid to and they stepped up their customer sevice skills it wouldn't be to bad of a place. Until then stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewel5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela K, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jewel5306,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I hope your children were able to enjoy our 'Splash Bay Adventure'! It is a huge attraction and kids love our 108' waterslide. We are completely refreshing our hotel and I hope you will stop by and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews